Aries! Pisces? Both! Neither?

Astrological signs

Image via Wikipedia

Facebook was “abuzz” with the news that the zodiac sign we’ve been living with our whole lives is not correct, because the earth’s axis has rotated since the zodiac signs were named.  Friends claimed “I’m a Leo all the way” and “I’ll never be anything but a Virgo.”

I’ve always been an Aries.  Many of the Aries traits apply to me, but I’ve never felt like I was a true Aries.  I’m not as fiery, not as Out There as the Aries sign has always seemed.  So maybe I really am a Pisces.  Let’s take a look, shall we?  (All sun sign description came from about.com.)

Aries

  • courageous (yeah), pioneering (eh), brilliant (well of course!), adventurous (sure), dynamic (hmm), straight-forward (sometimes)
  • willful (can be), dominating (not so much), selfish (yes and no), ruthless (definitely not), insensitive (I suppose I can be, sometimes), impatient (Hell Yes)
  • Aries are gifted with a direct, fiery nature that makes them one step ahead of the crowd. (?) They take charge of a situation, and their sense of certainty usually makes others fall in line. (??) This makes the Sun in Aries a born leader. (???)
  • Often larger-than-life, they can light up a room with their charisma. (Really, not so much)  If a gathering is dull, they’ll quickly move on – and they’re among the ones with the stamina to party ‘til dawn. (Rarely) Aries craves excitement and their restless spirits seek out the next big thing. (Yeah, kind of)
  • Aries can rise to the challenge of any battle. Sometimes they go too far and scorch those they love with hurtful words said in the heat of the moment.  (It’s been known to happen)  They quickly forgive and forget (Big Fat No), but often deal with the fall out of their brusque demeanor.
  • Aries wants to achieve great things, and is propelled by an inner drive that is a force to be reckoned with.  (Not so much)  Their bright minds and ability to initiate can make them trailblazers in their careers. (eh)
  • At times, the rush to action can cause them to take unnecessary risks, or forge ahead without planning out crucial details.  (no, I’m kind of a planner) Some say the Sun in Aries learns the hard way, by leaping before looking. But being an active sign, the Aries learns best through experience.  (That’s VERY true)

Pisces

  • compassionate (I can be, sometimes), creative (I’d like to think so), mystical (not so much), sensitive (yes), romantic (mmhmm), dreamy (sure)
  • escapist (oh yeah), lazy (yep), self-indulgent (often), overwhelmed (occasionally), impressionable (not really)
  • As the last of the twelve Zodiac signs, Pisces is said to contain aspects of them all. This makes the Pisces Sun so changeable as to appear not to have one singular identity. It’s as if they’re just touching down in this human reality, and light enough to try on a few personas.  (Is this saying I have multiple personalities?)
  • Pisces can be so dreamy as to seem “somewhere else” half the time. They’re tuned into the spiritual side of things, and this gives them an otherworldly air. It can seem that they’re always sensing the emotional currents that run between people, as well as those connecting us to the great beyond.  (No, no, not so much)
  • The Pisces Sun leads with a compassionate heart, which can be both a blessing and a curse. Many are remarkably wise and self-sacrificing when it comes to helping the vulnerable or those down on their luck. (Not me)  But this noble trait can take them down a path of being used and abused before they learn to set strong boundaries.
  • This is the sign of the mystic poet, and a creative pursuit gives Pisces the motivation to be disciplined. And bringing structure to the vast imagination and shades of emotion flowing within the Pisces nature is a great achievement. Through art, they can bring a bit of heaven down to Earth for the benefit of everyone.  (I can hope!)
  • It’s important for Pisces Sun to find a sense of purpose to avoid just drifting. Their sensitivity makes them also a tad more vulnerable to escapism through addictions or personal dramas. (I don’t have an addictive personality at all)  Finding a sense of worth, self-definition and purpose seem to be some of their life lessons.  (Big Mm-Hm)

So, maybe I’m a little of both.  Heck, I’m probably a little of every sign.  I think we all are.  Does it matter if our signs have changed, if they’re not what we thought they were?

Then again, the story could be blown way out of proportion.  The media has a knack for doing things like that.

2 responses to “Aries! Pisces? Both! Neither?

  1. Hey, I get to be that new sign, serpentarious, or whatever its called. If I believed in horoscopes that could explain why they were always wrong.

  2. I personally do believe that the new zodiac applies because this shift in the worlds axis is actually much older so the new zodiac should’ve been enforced a LONG time ago. Isn’t that the point? The true sign you are born under. So basically many of us were born under a different sign than what we once thought. My bday is April 18th which previously made me an Aries and under the new sign gives me exactly two zodiac signs! Not on the cusp, but literally I am both Aries and Pisces. This actually makes more sense to me because growing up I always thought that Aries was one of the best and coolest signs to have but didn’t fit me as a whole. I see now I possess both traits if not a little more Pisces traits. I am however still partially Aries. I am outgoing and energetic – only around people I trust to truly be myself. I am super competitive and always feel like I have to be the best at everything I do. I compare myself to others. As a woman I try to be domineering and assertive in the ratio ship even though like a Pisces I truly desire to be catered to and pampered but my Aries pride won’t allow me to admit it fully. I am headstrong, super rebellios to wards authority and institutions, etc. As a Pisces though I am naturally drawn to water as a calming force in nature. I love the ocean, rivers, streams, waterfalls, and rainstorms. I am very spiritual and deeply interested in the occult and practice tarot card readings as well as learning more about spiritualism. I view everything in this life through a mystical lense and pray to my ancestors and spirits. Sometimes i think I’m more tied to the spirit world than the real world. I am moody and can be prone to depression. I am often dreamy and distracted because I am deep in thought. I possess a few mediumistic abilities/gifts. I am often overtired/lazy and take things at a slow pace. But overall like a person who is both a fire and water sign I often experience identity crisis always asking myself who I am and constantly fighting with myself an inner turmoil. I feel so completely Pisces and Aries – now the zodiac makes sense to me. The scientists have proven that these new signs are actually not that new so chances are you were born under a diff sign than your old one. But because there is another sign added to the zodiac there are shorter periods between diff signs. Basically everyone is a “cusp” for ex. You are either the half of Aries that lean towards Pisces or the half that lean towards Taurus. And this new cycle actually includes various dual dates like my own bday in which the person receives both signs. Like a Taurus/cancer (sorry dint know the proper order). So really you have t lost your old “identity” – instead you’ve gained greater insight into you’re own unique personality. You probably genuinely possess the same traits that you always have that correspond with your previous zodiac but instead you are categorized under another zodiac but leaning towards or on the cusp if your old one. So open your mind. I read the new zodiac descriptions for my family NAND it was scary how it fit to a tee. I feel supremely blessed to have two zodiacs within the same day (april 18th) even if I am confused by having a fire and water sign together – in a way these signs are complementary opposites like ying and yang. I may even wish to get a tattoo to reflect this.