I hate twitter

 I’ve tried.  Honestly, over the past few years, I’ve tried.  I’ve opened two twitter accounts.  I simply don’t get it.  I feel really stupid, actually, because I really, really don’t get it.  I don’t get how to read it.  I don’t get how it’s fun.  I don’t get anything. 

Regardless of that, I was going to suffer through twitter for a year, as part of my 2011 goal to document something I’m happy about every day.  I posted something on January 1st.  Then I attempted to add the twitter feed to my blog sidebar.  And couldn’t do it.  After about five attempts, I gave up.  I don’t know if it’s a twitter thing, a wordpress thing, or user error, but regardless, the only reason I was doing twitter was to feed it onto my blog.  So I gave up.

I thought about doing it via a daily post (which would have qualified me for the wordpress post-a-day challenge), but there’s no guarantee I’ll be able to post every day, and besides, that’s a lot of needless, boring posts, IMO. 

So I was going to go with a 2011 Happiness Page on the blog, but that would be a really long page.

Instead, I’m going to do a post a week, and put it into the “2011 Happiness Project” category.  That means I have to be more diligent about remembering and/or writing it down each day, even if I can’t access a computer.  It’s not nearly as simple as a twitter feed would have been.

But I hate twitter.

5 responses to “I hate twitter

  1. Thanks heavens. I don’t *get* it either. I understand it, but I don’t *get* it.

  2. I’m afraid I have to disagree. I absolutely LOVE Twitter. It’s now a part of my everyday life, I’ve made lots of new friends from all of over the world because of it (a few I’ve even managed to meet in real life on my travels), I’ve been exposed to new opportunities because of it (singles events, free movie screenings, dating seminars and being quoted in a national newspaper article), I’ve won things on it (a book, a $100 H&M gift voucher and a restaurant voucher) and it’s great for my job too (public relations).

    It’s fun, its a faster news source than the actual news and its a great opportunity to network with like-minded people. So yeah, I love Twitter. With a passion.

    But that’s just me 😉

    • delightfuleccentric

      I wish I got it! I totally understand how it can be great, and I’ve really tried – I just don’t understand! It’s like it’s written in a different language or something. I keep trying to find “dummy” instructions, but so far, still not getting it! It makes me feel dumb!

  3. I don’t get it either. At all. The RTs the # and the everything else. Despite attending two seminars on Twitter and how to use it, I just don’t get it.

  4. delightfuleccentric

    Wow, two seminars, and you still don’t get it? I don’t feel so bad now…
    🙂