To a Better Year

As janus rostrum okretu ciach

Image via Wikipedia

Did you know that people have been making New Year’s Resolutions since 2000 BC?  It started with paying off debts and returning borrowed goods, and it evolved into vows of good conduct made to the Roman God Janus. 

You would think with all the practice, people would be better at fulfilling their New Year’s Resolutions.  But, I guess, if people were that good at fulfilling them, they wouldn’t really need them, since they would constantly be improving themselves throughout the year as they saw the need.

I’m not a big fan of New Year’s Resolutions, and yet I tend to make some each year.  But I’ve given up the Resolutions that never get fulfilled, instead making those year-round goals, and I’ve started making resolutions that are actually fun and that I’m fully capable of doing.  It’s not about changing my life forever, it’s about doing something this year and this year only.  If it progresses past a year, great.  But it’s only about This Year.

Last year, I was determined to pay more attention to each day by taking a picture every day.  And I’ve done a fairly decent job at doing that, missing only 21 days over the year.  Of course, I had no idea when I decided to take a picture a day that my year was going to be…less than wonderful.  Regardless, I had a lot of fun doing it, and I learned a lot about myself in the process. 

I’m hoping that 2011 is a much better year for me.  I’m hosting an open house tomorrow, asking my friends to come over and help fill my home with good mojo.  I have some sage and will be doing a smudging ceremony.  I’m working on cleaning out and lightening the clutter.  But none of these are New Year’s Resolutions, they are simply things I want to do and am in the process of doing.

So, what are my New Year’s Resolutions?  You know, those Resolutions I don’t like to make.  I’ve listed them on my 2011 Goal Page, and will be tracking them there, if you have an inclination to follow along.  I may add some as the year progresses.

Do you have any New Year’s Resolutions?  What are they?  Or do you do something else, instead?

3 responses to “To a Better Year

  1. portlandsfunnygirl

    Great interesting facts about where resolutions came from! I didn’t know that and am always interested in reading little triva facts like this. 🙂

    I wish you luck on your resolutions. I myself don’t make them because like most people, I set myself up to fail. And I don’t like failing lol. 🙂 I have a list of things I’d like to accomplish, what I want to do, etc. But I think those should be seperate than resolutions because they aren’t things I’d like to accomplish in just a year. Though I am interested in seeing how far along I can go in a year and marking my progress, etc. Just don’t be like me and set yourself up to fail or beat yourself up if you don’t accomplish everything on your list. Wish you best of luck and Happy New Years~! ^_^

  2. delightfuleccentric

    I very specifically make resolutions (really, goals) that I know I can achieve. Is that counter-intuitive? 😉

    Happy New Year to You!

  3. Pingback: Delightful Year, Continued | DelightfulEccentric