Learn something about…Les Edwards

Les Edwards is an illustrator, working in the horror, science fiction, and fantasy genres.  He’s done graphic novels, advertising campaigns, and book jacket illustrations. 

I admit, I didn’t know much about Les Edwards going into this post.  I stumbled across him while doing some other research and thought this post would be fun.  So I recognize very little of his body of work, with a few exceptions.  He did illustrations for the Conan book series, publicity posters for the movie The Thing, and one of his pieces was used for the cover art on an early Metallica single.  Some of his work, in his self-described “red period,” are quite gory, but other times he focused on portrait elements and landscapes. 

He’s been doing illustrations for over 35 years, and also does work under the name Edward Miller.  You can check out his work here (for Les Edwards) and here (for Edward Miller).  He has numerous pieces of his work available for viewing and downloadable for desktop background, and some notes that go along with them.

I looked for a piece that depicted a heart being cut out, but couldn’t find one.

3 responses to “Learn something about…Les Edwards

  1. Okay, I know this is silly, but I’m reminded of another Les. Les Nessman.

    There was this TV show called WKRP in Cincinatti, about the crew that worked at a radio station. You’ve probably seen it; I loved it even before I became a radio guy. Anyway, Les Nessman was a character who read the news, and Johnny Fever was the drive time DJ. Les Nessman was a real tool, and one time Johnny segued into a commercial by saying:

    “And coming up… more music, and Les Nessman!” The way he emphasized his first name was priceless.

    Anyway… I can’t hear that name without hearing that double entendre.

    That said, as a science fiction writer myself (yes, I’ve worn many hats), I’ve grown to love some of the images by the big names in sf and fantasy cover art. If you enjoy this kind of work, you may also want to take a look at Michael Whelan and Don Dos Santos. 🙂