I need a jump

Rock 'n' Roll Jump Start

Image by Jeff Keen via Flickr

I’ve been seeing this one guy, he’s super nice, and very cute.  We’ve been on, I think, five dates, and he’s very attentive and nice.  I hesitate to say it, but a little too attentive.  He contacts me every day, which I know is every woman’s dream, but it’s just too much for me.  He actually apologizes is it’s been more than 24 hours since he’s “checked in” on me.  While I know he doesn’t really mean it that way, my immediate reaction to that is, “I don’t need someone to check in on me, I’m an adult.”  He’s been in China on business for a couple of weeks, so it’s been a nice break from the daily contact.  I feel like I can breathe again.

Other than that, match.com has been a little slow lately.  I’m partially responsible, as I’ve let as much as a week go by without logging in.  It’s important to log in every day, so you show up within the first few pages of searching.  I know this, but…it just gets a little old.

So, I’m challenging myself.  I will contact five different men each day this week, starting tomorrow.  In addition to hopefully jump starting my dating life again, I am also curious about (and will duly report) the results of this little experiment.  Remember my post about men not responding when I make the first move?  At that time, out of 23 men I initiated contact with, only two responded.  Disgustingly low statistic.  Well, we’ll see how it goes with this little experiment. 

Readers, take a guess.  Leave a comment with how many men out of 25 you think will respond.  Winner gets a batch of cookies, even if I have to mail them to you. 🙂

5 responses to “I need a jump

  1. Hmmmm… I’m going to go with 23 circa the movie The Number 23.

    I’d also suggest you spend some time with B.O.B. so that you get the jump you need and aren’t inclined to relent your powers too quickly.

    • delightfuleccentric

      Wow, 23? You have an awful lot of faith in either me or the quality of men on match! And, unfortunately, BOB can’t hold me tight and keep me warm in the middle of the night (or on a cold morning like this) – although he’s handy (heehee) he’s not all that useful!

      Thanks for stopping in and commenting. If I get 23 responses, you’ll have a batch of cookies in the mail!

  2. londonsingleblog

    According to my dentist(!) she only got one or two replies out of 30 so you were doing pretty well before!

    • delightfuleccentric

      Seriously, what has this world come to when a woman says, “How YOU doin’?” and a man doesn’t even bother to respond? Sheesh!

  3. 15.

    Just a hunch, but at this time of year, anyone who is paying attention to online dating is likely more serious than the spring time folks who are, well, all in a tizzy.