My soul too bare

Well, I’ve been working on a blog post for over a week now, one of those painful, soul-baring, emotional ones, but now I find I’m hesitant to post it.  Throughout the life of this blog, I’ve known that this blog is public and anyone could read it, and particularly within the last 9 months I’ve been aware that The Pilot and/or his girlfriend could read it, but I regarded it as a possibility, not a probability or a definite.  Plausible deniability, if you will.  But now I’m aware that The Pilot’s friend reads it, and I find I’m not as willing to bare my soul.  Odd, huh?

I don’t know, I may still post it.  You see, I’ve always thought of the internet as this wonderful thing, giving proof that you are not alone in the world.  Whatever problem I may have had, I have almost always been able to find someone else going through the same thing.  I’d like to feel like I may have done that for someone else.  Plus, as I always say, this is my form of therapy.

There’s a short story by Sandra Cisneros called “Mango Says Goodbye Sometimes.”  In it, she says, “I put it down on paper and then the ghost does not ache so much.  I write it down and Mango says goodbye sometimes.  She does not hold me with both arms.  She sets me free.”  I’ve often felt that way about writing and blogging.  That’s why I consider it therapy.  Instead of paying someone to listen to me and nod their head and offer paltry non-advice, I type it out and get the input of my peers (for free!).

So, what do you think, Peers?  Should I post what I was going to post anyway, or no?

4 responses to “My soul too bare

  1. Yes, you should post it.

    And, you should make it a “private post”, which means it’s password protected. Let your regular readers whom you have come to know and trust ask for the password, and start by sharing the post with them. You might even ask them if they think it’s better to keep the post locked tight or made available to the general public.

    But yes, you wrote it to share it. So share it. You can share it and still be… discreet about with whom you share. You are not alone.

    Luckily, though, that doesn’t mean you have to live in a mosh pit.

  2. I would say, share it too. This is your blog, you blog for a reason, it would be a same to let someone else stop you from doing this.

    As itneverrainsinseattle above said, you could always make it password protected?

  3. I say share… I faced a similar dilemma, but in the end, I knew that I was not in the wrong for being honest. What that man did to you was disgusting, and his girlfriend is an idiot for taking him back!

  4. I agree wholeheartedly.