“Make Love Happen”

Well, I’ve officially been back on Match for 6 months. I have followed all their little rules and now I get the next 6 months free. Not necessarily reason to rejoice. You mean I get to do this for six more months? Yay.

Let’s look at the numbers, shall we?

I’ve been online for 6 months. In that time, my profile has been viewed 3049 times by 972 different people. I’ve had contact (winked or been winked at, emailed or been emailed) with 174 men, 23 of whom I’ve initiated contact with (and 2 of whom have responded to my initiation). I went on a total of 11 first dates, 4 second dates, and 3 third dates. I kissed 1 man.

I updated my profile a couple of times, and changed some pictures. I tried not to go longer than 3 days between logins, but occasionally I did go over that. I responded to everyone, even if it was just an automatic “no, thanks” response.

I thought this time around was slower than the last time I was on, so I decided to compare the two. In my initial 6 months of my previous time on Match, my profile was viewed 2956 times, and I had contact with 155 different men. I don’t know how many different men viewed my profile, as I didn’t track that last time. I also don’t know how many dates I went on.

So actually, I was a little more active this time around – but I still don’t think I went on as many dates as I did last time.

Now let’s go back to one of the statements above. I initiated contact with 23 men. Most of those, I emailed. Out of those 23 men, only 2 responded.

What the hell has this world come to, when a man gets an email from a woman, indicating her interest in getting to know him, and he doesn’t have the courtesy to respond? An attractive, intelligent woman, at that. It’s not like I’m some troll emailing a Brad Pitt look-alike.

Grr. Dating sucks. All of you married people who come up to me and say, “Oh, you’re so lucky that you’re single, you can do whatever you want, go on a bunch of dates, have fun,” I have one thing to say to you.

Bite me.

7 responses to ““Make Love Happen”

  1. When I was on Match in 2004/2005, the only people I ever ended up on a date with were the ones I had contacted first. And I ended up married to one of them. But I am surprised at the 2 responses out of 23 statistic. I know several people who have met and married off Match and several wonderful women that it just doesn’t seem to work for. I’m not sure what the difference is between them though. Hang in there!

  2. i have to admit, i rarely envy the single life. it sounds SO exhausting. all that going out and flirting and meeting and analyzing. i’m tired just thinking about it!
    i met jon at a wedding when i was 21. i’m glad it happened when i was so young. if anything ever happens to him/us…that’s a scary thought! i couldn’t handle dating these days. 🙂

  3. Very interesting post! thank you!

    Freelance Translation Studio
    http://www.ft-studio.com
    Translation and Localization services into Ukrainian, Russian, Kazakh, Armenian, Azerbaijan, Belorussian, Georgian, Kirghiz, Moldavian, Tajik, Turkmen, Uzbek!

  4. I’m with Jen. Dating is exhausting. Hope everything comes together sooner than later.

  5. Pingback: I need a jump | DelightfulEccentric