I want my own adventure

I saw this postcard on postsecret last Sunday, and of course it stood out.  Anything air travel related stands out to me.  But it didn’t really speak to me at the time, so I kept on scrolling through.

But the more I thought about it, the more it does speak to me, but not in the way it’s meant, I’m sure.

You see, over the last two or three weeks, I’ve been thinking.  It all started with my solo trip to the beach in April, and how wonderful it was, just me and the waves.  And I decided that I was going to go to the beach every year for my birthday, not necessarily alone, but I would definitely try to go alone.  My friend mentioned Belize, and when I looked it up, I couldn’t believe how cheap it was (as long as I didn’t mind not having a suite). 

So I decided on Belize, next April, sometime around my birthday.

I’ve always been against traveling alone, for several reasons.  It really has nothing to do with me not wanting to be alone.  I don’t mind being alone.  Part of it was a safety issue – a single, not-unattractive woman, traveling alone in a foreign country, possibly (probably) unable to speak the language, doesn’t seem especially safe.  I know other women have done it, but, I’ll admit, I was a little scared.  The other part of it is that I never seem to enjoy certain things as much as when there’s someone to share it with.  A beautiful view is wonderful, but when you can remember it with someone months, years later, that makes it even better, I think.  Part of travel is the funny and memorable stories that come out of it, and if you don’t have someone to share it with, it’s not quite as special.

But the thought of going to Belize by myself made me…happy.  Excited.  Calm and content.  And then I thought, where else do I want to go?  France.  Italy.  Greece.  Iceland.  Peru.  Turkey.  India.  Indonesia.  Egypt.  Germany.  And many, many more places. 

And, with only a few exceptions (India, Egypt, Turkey), I feel perfectly comfortable with the idea of traveling alone.

I’m done waiting for someone to travel with.  I’m done with my life on hold.

My plan right now is Belize in April, Cabo for whale watching in Q1 2012, Peru at the end of summer 2012, and France in Spring 2013.  Plus, I need to make it to Chicago and DC sometime in the next year or two. 

Anyway, to get back to the postcard.  I’m obviously no longer in a relationship with a pilot.  Being with The Pilot didn’t spark my desire for adventure any more than it was already sparked.

But what he put me through, the issues I’ve dealt with, the personal hell I’ve been through in the last seven months? 

Well, if this were my postcard, it might say, “Being with a pilot wasn’t a romantic adventure, but the rest of my life will be.”

Maybe that’s the life changer that came from that relationship.

13 responses to “I want my own adventure

  1. i love postsecret – so cool of you to reference that & use it as a starting point.
    http
    I’m excited to be traveling around Europe starting september – thx for sharing & hope you enjoy your own adventures!

    http://tracyzhangphoto.wordpress.com/

    • delightfuleccentric

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! Postsecret is great, isn’t it? Kind of like blogging – it gives you a glimpse into other people’s worlds, and it makes you realize you’re not alone!

      Enjoy Europe – I’m jealous! 🙂

  2. TheSingleFilez

    Well, you already know my thoughts on travelling alone (http://wp.me/pASE4-g9) I say go for it! Life is too short. We’ve got to make the most of amazing experiences while we still can.

    I’ve been to Paris and Amsterdam alone (just for a couple of nights each time) and most recently ventured to New York, Philadelphia and Barbados alone. Ok, so I cheated by going to countries where they speak English (in the case of Paris and Amsterdam, speak English VERY well) but still, amazing experiences.

    P.S. France, Germany but not England? I’m hurt! 😉

    • delightfuleccentric

      I know- you traveling alone was one of the catalysts I needed, actually! (I nearly asked if I could join you in Barbados, btw!)

      Of course England is on my list (I did say “and many, many more places”)! But here’s the funny thing – I used to always say I wanted my first BIG trip to be to England/Ireland, so there wouldn’t be a language issue and I would be more comfortable. But now, I’m actually shying away from the “comfortable” – I mean, I really want to put myself out there and experience, you know?

      • TheSingleFilez

        Good for you girlie! Wherever you end up going, it will be an amazing experience. If you ever do come to the UK, be sure to give me a shout.

        P.S. You totally would have been welcome to join me in Barbados FYI 🙂

  3. Good for you. It all starts with a plan.

  4. You know with our running group you are never really alone no matter where you go.

    • delightfuleccentric

      Yeah, if I still actually DID that. Although, I think I would like it better in Europe. The groups around here have gotten a little out of control – you know me, I’m not quite into All That Craziness. :-/ Love ’em, but it can get a little much.

  5. Ironically, sometimes because “I gots me a MAN”, it makes it harder to travel alone! No offense to Mr Geauxgirl, but sometimes a trip for just Me is prescribed. And I’m the better for it, as is he.

    LIVE it, sistah gurl. Rock on with your wanderlust self.

    • delightfuleccentric

      It never necessarily had to be A Man, it could be anyone. It’s just so hard to find people to travel with. Obviously I can travel with you and Lovey and share a room without a problem, but I also don’t want to “impose.” And yes, I know what you’re going to say to that, but it doesn’t mean I don’t feel that way sometimes. My point being, I don’t know very many single people, most of the attached people I know wouldn’t DREAM of going somewhere without their man, and the single people I do know, for the most part, either don’t have the money or the…NERVE to travel.

  6. I hear Seattle is nice this time of year. Ahem.