My life’s okay

Blog post in haiku:

My life’s okay,

Have Job, Home, Food, Health, Friends –

It could be worse.

Seriously. I realize that there are people far worse off than I am, and that my problems and issues don’t add up to spoonful of the heaping mess that some people deal with.

I’m employed, and have money in the bank, and can pay my bills and have some spending money. I own my own home, and don’t have to worry about where my next meal is going to come from.

I’m college educated, have reliable transportation, electricity and running water.

I am healthy, disease free, with no real physical or mental limitations.

I’ve never had a man hit me. I’ve never had to deal with date rape or unwanted pregnancy or a psycho stalker. I’ve never had to deal with divorce and custody battles and child support. I’ve never had to deal with the death of a child.

I have a loving family that I get along with quite well. I have friends who care about me, who would (and have) jump in their car in the middle of the night to rescue me from the side of the road, who would offer me a place to stay and food and clothes off their back if I needed it.

I know all this. Which is why I feel really bad when I have my “Woe is Me” moments. Oh, boohoo, I can’t afford a trip to Europe. Oh, boohoo, I can’t afford a new car. Oh, boohoo, my boyfriend cheated on me and dumped me (although, does it count as being dumped if he just disappeared?). Oh, boohoo, I don’t get to go out to eat as often as I would like. Oh, boohoo, some days I don’t like my job very much. Oh, boohoo, I can’t run 3 miles in 30 minutes.

Boo-freaking-hoo.

I get it.

Doesn’t mean I don’t want things to be better.

The head can say it all day long, yell and scream and shout through a bullhorn, but the heart, the soul, the core of you doesn’t always listen, or pay attention to reason.

Sucks, don’t it?

What do you boohoo about, even though you know it could be worse?

2 responses to “My life’s okay

  1. I boo-hoo about everything. Boo-hoo, I have so much access to food that I ate too much and need to lose 10 lbs. Boo-hoo, I only get 2 weeks of PAID vacation. Boo-hoo, I’m employed with a job I find boring.

    I think everyone does it. Boo-hooing is a privilege of those that can afford it. When you’re working 3 jobs to make ends meet, I’m not sure you have as much time to complain about the little things.

  2. We all do it. I read recently a nifty little tidbit: GET to.

    As in, instead of “I have to do X”, it’s “I GET to do X”.

    I don’t have to get groceries. I GET to get groceries. And I GET to provide sustenance for us to support our bodies that carry us around all day and do the heavy lifting.

    Maybe it’s a pollyanna jedi mind trick, sure. But I don’t care. It’s a choice. 🙂