The Middle

Yes, I know I already have a post entitled “The Middle.”  This is a different kind of post, and it’s really the only title it could have.

Hope Floats was on today, and I flipped it on just for some noise in the background.  And that’s when I remembered how much I love this movie.  I seem to love it even more every time I watch it.  I remember the first time I saw it, I cried the most when Bernice’s dad drove away from her, crying her heart out for him to take her with him.  But now, the part that kills me the most is when Birdee goes to visit her dad, and he has Alzheimer’s, and she’s just talking to him, and then they start dancing.  Tears.

My favorite part, though, is at the very end.  Sandra Bullock does a voiceover:

Beginnings are scary, endings are usually sad, but it’s the middle that counts the most.  You need to remember that when you find yourself at the beginning.  Just give hope a chance to float up.

It’s funny, because that’s almost in direct opposition to one of my current favorite songs, “The Middle,” by Jimmy Eat World.  The song is more about getting through the middle, rather than reveling in it.

It just takes some time,

Little girl, you’re in the middle of the ride.

Everything, everything will be just fine,

Everything, everything will be all right.

 

So, which is it?  Is The Middle the best part, or the worst part?  Is it something to savor, or something to endure?

I suppose it depends on what you’re in the middle of

Comments are closed.