It’s Warm

We are smack in the middle of a heat wave. Actually, that’s not true, we’re at the tail end of it, as they are expecting a cold front to move in tomorrow. We’ve had something like 17 consecutive days of….over 90 degrees.

Really?

I spent a lot of my life in Dallas, TX. I remember one year, I think it was 2000, when we had 35+ days of over 100 degrees for the high. And it was likely 80% humidity, on average, the whole time. That’s why I laugh in the face of this “Heat Wave” we’re having now in Charlotte.

I love it. I love walking out of my office and feeling the warmth on my skin. I love getting in the car and feeling that moment of heat suffocation before you get the chance to roll the windows down (although burning myself on the sizzling seatbelt and driving with one finger on the roasting steering wheel, I can do without). Now, don’t misunderstand me. I don’t want to sit or stand outside for extended periods of time. Even I start to complain when I’m laying in a pool of my own sweat. But just your average “to the car to the office to the car to the house” moments? I’m okay with those.

I get that we all have different levels of tolerance when it comes to heat and cold. People from Minnesota laugh at us when we complain about 49 degrees – it’s balmy to them. It’s all about what you’re used to, and what you can tolerate.

There are people who say they would rather be too cold than too hot, because you can always put on more clothes. Not me. I hate the cold. HATE. I tolerate it, and often don’t bother to wear a jacket if it’s above 30 (unless, obviously, I’m going to be standing out in it), but I would far prefer it to be 100 degrees.

What about you? Would you rather it be too hot or too cold? What temperature is too hot/cold for you?

2 responses to “It’s Warm

  1. Much rather be cold than hot. I spent 4 years of college walking to class in the winter at -20 degrees (and colder) with my nostrils freezing together…not too bad. I could always wrap another scarf around my head. Hot temperatures make me feel sluggish and zap my motivation to do anything.

    Too cold for me is probably anything below zero. I don’t really want to be out in that. Too hot is right now. This heat wave. The mountains have been so great – about 12 degrees cooler. If I never saw it get above 85 again, I’d be a happy camper!

  2. I’m with Jen … still live in the Great State where it has been raining for 40 days and 40 nights – not an ark in sight. As you well know, when not raining, it’s boiling. You enjoy the heat, am going to be thankful for rain and gloom and air con respite. 🙂