When I grow up I wanna be your girl

What did you want to be when you grew up?  I never had a real desire to be anything.  I’m sure at some point I wanted to be a princess and an actress and a singer and a model, because almost all little girls want to be those things when they were young.  Come to think of it, I still wouldn’t mind being a princess. 

In middle school I wanted to be a lawyer, but I think that was more because 3 of my closest friends said they wanted to be a lawyer, so I did, too.    

In high school, I wanted to be a writer.  I still do, but I don’t put in the effort I should.  I’m lazy that way. 

In college I wanted to be a teacher. 

Truth is, I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.  I like my job, but it’s a job, not a career.  There’s not a specific job I want, a title I’m working for, a career goal I have.  I feel bad about that sometimes, that I don’t have more drive, more goals.  I just want to be happy doing what I’m doing, regardless of what that is.  I don’t want to hate going to work every day.  I’ve been there.  It sucks.  And as much as I may bitch about my job sometimes, I actually like the job, I just don’t like the corporate environment I end up in sometimes.  I don’t do office politics well, I simply don’t have the time, energy, or bullshit factor for it.

You know that interview question, “Where do you see yourself in 5 years?”  I hate that question.  I don’t see myself in 5 years.  There’s not a dream or goal I have in mind, a picture in my head about where I want to be.  Ideally, I’d like to be on a beach drinking a mojito, independently wealthy without a care in the world, but interviewers don’t want to hear that. 

I can’t help but start singing Kasey Chambers’ “Pony” when I say “When I grow up.”  Have a listen:

When I grow up I want a pony.  When I grow up I want a baby.  When I grow up I want a cowboy.  When I grow up I’ll be a lady.

6 responses to “When I grow up I wanna be your girl

  1. I wanted to be Indiana Jones,…..kinda still do.

  2. TheSingleFilez

    When I was a kid I wanted to be either Michael or Janet Jackson’s backing dancer….

  3. I just always assumed I would do the whole mormon-route…go to college, get married, have kids, be a stay-at-home mom. Done.

    then I decided not to be mormon anymore and that changed plans a bit. i still don’t know what i want to do “when i grow up”. being independently wealthy and not having to work/decide would be ideal. 🙂

  4. I’m right there with ya. I loved watching Circus of the Stars and I wanted to be the Flying Trapeze Artist when I was real little. When I got a little older, I wanted to be a writer, but I also haven’t put much effort into since college. I’ve heard people say to think of a hobby you really love to do and turn it into a job. Everything I really love to do as a hobby I’m either not good enough to turn it into a job or business, or it only pays enough to be second job. At least I can still enjoy them as a hobby though.

  5. Another friend was posting something similar at almost the same time: http://steepedinbliss.wordpress.com/2010/06/04/export/

    Eerie.

    I suspect no one knows what they want to be when they grow up. Those that do, are probably lying, or too chicken to admit that they didn’t pick the path they’re on.

    Or maybe it’s ME that doesn’t believe they exist– like the Tooth Fairy of Career and Life Decisions.

    • Naw, I met a few (and I mean very few) that found something they really liked to do. My sister really really liked being a truck driver until she had an accident and smashed her wrist. That probably sounds tragic but here is the kicker. She is going back to school to try to do something else she really loves to do: TALK. She had a noontime spot on the campus radio station her first semester. She is actually really good at it.