He’s a cheater

I ran across an article today: 9 Signs Your Guy is Cheating. Let’s go over them, shall we, and determine if I should have known, based on these signs, that The Pilot was cheating on me.

  1. Less Sex. Nope, we had a pretty wonderful sex life.
  2. Jumpy Cell Phone Habits. Did he get nervous when receiving calls or texts? Nope.
  3. Gushing or Talking about Someone Suddenly. Nope. In fact, when I asked him about the woman who turned out to be his girlfriend, he brushed it off, saying she was his cousin, and never mentioned her again.
  4. Disconnecting. He’s drawing away from you, not laughing or seeming as passionate as usual. Nope, no problems there.
  5. He’s Pulling “Houdinis.” Disappearing, traveling. Well, that’s a pretty obvious one.
  6. His Friends are Acting Strange. When I saw them, they seemed normal. However, I was friends with one of his friends on FB, and one day I noticed we were no longer friends. So….
  7. He’s Been Caught in Lies About Other Things. Nope.
  8. Been There, Done That. This is the whole, “once a cheater, always a cheater” thing. I don’t remember him saying he had cheated on a woman before. I do remember him talking about his ex cheating on him, and how much it tore him up. Of course, that was probably a lie, too.
  9. Your Gut Tells You So. Nope – I had no clue. Not even an inkling.

So, out of 9 signs, I can only count half of two: #5, because although he was traveling, that was his job, and #6.

Should I have known better? Should I have seen The Signs? Was I deluding myself?

I really feel sorry for his girlfriend, as I’m sure she’s forgiven him and they are still together. He is a very good liar, and he was able to get away with it for a very long time. Why wouldn’t he think he could do it again?

2 responses to “He’s a cheater

  1. He is a good liar because he is a sociopath. These people have no conscience and can lie convincingly without exposing any flaws.

    It is better that you got rid of him early. I know that it is not much consolation.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

  2. TheSingleFilez

    Exactly what I was about to say. He was obviously a flawless, deceitful liar. The sort that you are most definitely better off without. Chin up girl!