13 Minutes!

So, something happened to me yesterday.  Although I was happy about it, I didn’t realize quite how significant it was until right now.  So, instead of going to bed like I had planned to do, I’m back online to document this and share my good news.

Anyone who knows me in real life, or has followed this blog for a long while, will remember that I had a knee injury a little over two years ago.  I went to the doctor, I had an MRI, I went to Physical Therapy, even went to a podiatrist, but no one could find anything wrong with the knee.  The MRI came out fine.  I’ve been fed up with this issue for a long time, and I haven’t been able to enjoy my formerly normal activities, such as running, a fabulous gym class I had to give up, and wakeboarding, for fear of causing further injury (and pain) to my knee.  Wakeboarding, especially, was a scary option, because wakeboarders often blow their knees out.  Not that I’m doing jumps and stuff like professional wakeboarders…. 

I had made the decision a couple of months ago that if the knee was no better by this summer, I was going to stress it, wakeboard, and blow it out.  Because, hey, they’d have something to fix.  It would suck in the short run, but overall, I’d walk away with a better knee. 

I’ve been going to the chiropractor for a few months now, and he’s been working on a couple of things.  I’ve run a little bit, but not for more than half a mile, and even that was broken up with walking.

Well, I got on the treadmill yesterday, and I did a mile in 13 minutes.  I ran most of it, taking short breaks for walking.  There were a couple of twinges, but overall, it held up pretty well, which I was happy with.  Excited about. 

And then, tonight, on my way to bed, I remembered what I was able to run before, when I was doing Physical Therapy.  Two minutes one day before the pain became unbearable.  Five minutes another.  I think the best I did was eight minutes of running before the pain started, and once it started it was excruciating, to the point I couldn’t even walk.

And yesterday, I ran for thirteen minutes.  And walked away with no pain.

HOLY CRAP!!!  THIS IS HUGE!!!

😀  😀  😀  😀

One response to “13 Minutes!

  1. Now *that* is an excellent discovery.

    Nicely done!

    Me, well… I think I’ll be scheduling surgery for late June.