must…not…look…

This week, I had to have the “You’re a nice guy, but…” talk.  It was not fun.  I royally suck at it.  I felt like shit about it beforehand, I felt like shit about it afterwards.  But it needed to get done, so I sucked it up and did it. 

Let me repeat that – I sucked it up and did it.  Like an adult who respects other people.

Okay, enough with that.

Chemistry.com had a free weekend last weekend, so I decided to check it out.  I ended up signing up for a month, to see how it goes.  I’ve been emailing this one guy, and he’s…I hesitate to use the word “amazing,” but I think it might fit.  He’s certainly different from almost anyone I’ve emailed via an online dating site.  Long, thorough, well-written emails, he’s smart, he’s funny, his pictures show him to be cute.  We’re now emailing directly, instead of via the Chemistry site, and his email address is attached to his blog.  What can I say, I’m a smart cookie, and I figured it out.  (If your email address is Joe@mofonation, I’m going to be able to figure out that you are somehow affiliated with mofonation.  His name is not, btw, Joe, and I have no idea if there is any such thing as mofonation, but you see what I’m saying.)

I briefly glanced at it.  I swear, it was briefly.  I could have gone back and read all the archives, but I refrained.  He had a recent post about online dating that I couldn’t quite allow myself to skim, and while I didn’t read every word, I did get the general gist.  Which was, he’s looking for someone smart and that can write complete sentences, not just some pretty girl.  (Sound familiar?)

This guy is…

Nope, not going to say it.

Except that he cooks, and I mean COOKS, and he’s so smart, and he’s got that dry humor, and he can write, my goodness he can write. 

Trying not to get all googly-eyed, but…wow. 

Seriously.

Now I just need to force myself not to keep checking his blog.  Why?  Well, that’s kind of stalker-ish, don’t you think?  And I should be learning about him from him, not from his blog.  And wouldn’t it be horrible if I read something and then let it slip in conversation?  Bad, bad, bad. 

So, I will not look.  I will not, I will not, I will not.

Meanwhile, I’ve got that lovely warm feeling in my tummy.  (No, not low in my tummy, high in my tummy – get your mind out of the gutter.)

It’s nice, and it helps get my mind away from…other people.

5 responses to “must…not…look…

  1. Feh.

    You should tell him (at some point) that you’ve stumbled upon his blog. At least, you should do so before *too* long into your whatever-this-becomes. By doing so, you will extricate yourself from stalkerhood. You’ll be free to read his blog with abandon, because you’re no longer sneaking. It’s all out in the open. And he’ll know that you like his writing.

    And here’s to people who know how to write well!

    And men who can cook!

    • delightfuleccentric

      Oh, I’ll tell him, don’t worry. Don’t you know by now that I’m brutally honest? I’ll probably tell him this weekend…when we have sushi…
      😉
      INRIS, you would totally love this guy’s blog. I’ll send you a link – then you can tell me what you REALLY think! 🙂

  2. Awesome. Enjoy it and have fun.

  3. Pingback: Sparks « DelightfulEccentric

  4. Pingback: The Grad Student « DelightfulEccentric