Stress Fracture

It’s been a crazy-busy couple of weeks.  Work has been particularly busy for a while now, which I guess is good, because it’s job security.  But lately it’s gotten…well, let’s just say there are three of us, and all three of us have had a mini-breakdown over the last month. 

Last week, the week before Valentine’s Day, was particularly bad, and about noon that Friday I was really having a hard time keeping it together.  Add work stress to the stress in my personal life (see previous posts…), and it’s really no surprise I was on edge.

About 1pm, I got an email that I had a delivery at the front desk.  I didn’t really think about it at first, about the fact that it was Valentine’s Day.  I wondered what it could be.  Then, five seconds later, I remembered it was Valentine’s Day, and I really wondered why I would have a delivery.  I got up and started walking to the front desk, wondering if maybe The Pilot had sent me flowers, as an apology or something.  Five seconds later I shook my head.  No way. 

I was about halfway to the front desk before I remembered that my Dad sends me flowers every Valentine’s Day.  And suddenly, it was all too much.  I knew I couldn’t make it to the front desk, I couldn’t pick up the flowers, and in fact, I was lucky to be able to turn around and make it back to my desk without completely losing it. 

I sat down and looked at my coworker, and told her that my Dad had sent me flowers, but I couldn’t pick them up. 

And that’s when I lost it.  Sobbing, at my desk, trying to keep it together and failing miserably.  My coworker took pity on me and went to pick up the flowers while I tried to get control of myself.

No one thing did it.  Being dumped the way I was, and dealing with the new knowledge about his double life.  Stress at work.  The stress of Valentine’s Day.  It just all snowballed into a sniveling mess.

Things will get better.  I will get better. 

And until then, I will get by.

6 responses to “Stress Fracture

  1. You’ve probably already seen this, but I forward it along because, well… because.

    Here’s to better days ahead.

    • delightfuleccentric

      Ha! I hadn’t seen that before. Very funny – “I’ll be fine,” followed by…”Okay, not so much right NOW.” That actually describes my attitude over the last couple of months quite well!

  2. Awww, I wish I could give you a hug 😦

  3. Just found your blog through the Pilots Wives & Girlfriends group on Facebook. I’m so sorry about the situation you’ve been going through. As you know, that scenario is always in the forefront of our thoughts as a pilot’s S.O. You’re doing a great job staying strong.

  4. Pingback: DelightfulYear – February « DelightfulEccentric

  5. Pingback: Just another day in loveless land | DelightfulEccentric