Road Map

7 years ago today, my life changed. Of course, it’s not the only time my life has changed, and really I could say 7 years or 7 ½ years ago, because if what happened in July of 02 hadn’t happened, then what happened in Feb of 03 wouldn’t have happened. But that line of reasoning could be traced much further back, and then it would simply be, “…if I hadn’t been born…”

7 years ago, I woke up in a hotel room in Salina, KS, and drove to Denver.

It’s a pivotal moment. I can say, without a doubt, that if I hadn’t moved to Denver, I wouldn’t be where I am now.

Or would I be? Would something else have happened to get me here? Maybe. Because I used to work for a company in Dallas that was headquartered here. Maybe if I had stayed with that company, I would still have ended up here.

Regardless, Denver was a stepping stone. It taught me a lot about myself. Lessons I’m still learning, building on.

One day, I’m sure, I’ll look back at the past couple of months and realize that this, too, was a pivotal moment in life. If this hadn’t happened, then something else couldn’t have happened.

I think of life as being a road map. There are many ways to get to each point, but you still end up at that point, eventually. You can leave San Diego via the 8, or the 15, or the 5, or any number of backroads, and each way has different views, different ports of call, different terrain, but whichever way you go, you can still end up in New York. It’s just different turns along the way. The roads may converge and diverge at different points, giving you a whole new set of “what ifs.” But still, you get to where you’re supposed to be. And whatever souvenirs you pick up along the way help you when you get there.

6 responses to “Road Map

  1. I have always admired you for being willing to make the journey. Most people, myself included, just seem to collect maps. You actually dare to travel.

  2. The only real “Easy” way out is to give up and stop living. It seems to me that this is the furthest thing from what you do. Sometimes what we call the easy way is really the way your conscience is telling you to go. You are far braver than you give yourself credit for.

  3. Is it easier to risk what’s out there, or sit still and rot risking not having lived? They’re both a risk. But going out an living is a helluva lot more fun.

    YMMV. 🙂

    Makes me think of the Indigo Girls’ “Watershed”….

  4. Pingback: Just another day in loveless land | DelightfulEccentric

  5. Pingback: Choose Your Own Adventure (via The Other Side of 55) | DelightfulEccentric