The Beginning (AKA Part 1)

On December 21st, I was super excited to see The Pilot after a very long absence.  We went for sushi (yum!) and had a wonderful time.  I asked him if he wanted to go ahead and do Christmas that night, or wait.  “Let’s wait,” he said.  “I still have one more thing I want to get you.  I wasn’t sure about it, but I think you’ll like it.”

Well, that got me excited about Christmas, finally!  I hadn’t really been feeling the Christmas Spirit, but I was instantly excited, and got more excited as the week went by. 

On Christmas Day, we wished each other Merry Christmas, via technology, but never actually got the chance to talk.  The Monday after Christmas, he texted me about midnight, said it had been a long day, but he would call me the next day.  I didn’t get a call, but I didn’t think much of it.  I sent him a couple of texts that week, and just after midnight on New Year’s, I texted him a Happy New Year message, expecting to get a response back.

I didn’t.

On Saturday, Jan 2nd, I left him a voicemail that I was getting worried about him, because I hadn’t heard from him.  I texted him several times the following week, and emailed him, because I was really worried that something had happened to him.  I was literally nauseous – like, head between the knees to keep from throwing up because I was so worried. 

On Friday, Jan 8th, I had the cable guy come out, and when I went to get my extra key off the hook to let him out back, I found The Pilot’s copy of my house key.  I tried calling him again, and his phone had been disconnected.  Well, now I was really freaked out.  I messaged a friend of his on Facebook, asking if he had heard from him, because I was really worried. The response I received back: “He’s fine.” I logged out of facebook and logged in under my fake name, and found The Pilot on there, so he had evidently unfriended and blocked me.

(Stay tuned for Part 2…)

7 responses to “The Beginning (AKA Part 1)

  1. Asshat is my new favorite curse word. Seems too nice in this context.

    • delightfuleccentric

      Trust me when I say – you haven’t heard the half of it. (BTW, I love that word, too.)

  2. Wow, this pilot is sounding like a not-so-nice guy.

  3. Dear delightfuleccentric,

    I’ve felt the feeling you describe. It tore me apart. It took So. Fucking. Long. to get over it. But, that’s largely because the betrayal involved just kept going on. And on. And on.

    And then… she came back to me. And I took her back. My own pseudonymous blog is about how I’m just now finally untangling that particular mess.

    (And yes, I know I’m an idiot. Oh, but things are never as simple or as cut-and-dried as we would like, are they?)

    I’m so, so sorry this is happening to you. You are obviously a good-hearted, thoughtful person (with excellent taste in music, I might add) who deserves to be treated with kindness, love, and respect.

    Obviously, something *did* happen to The Pilot, because the man you knew is gone. And for that, I am so very sorry.

    That said, though… I prefer the term ‘fucktard.’

  4. Pingback: The Middle (AKA Part 2) « DelightfulEccentric’s Weblog

  5. Pingback: The End (AKA Part 3) « DelightfulEccentric’s Weblog

  6. Pingback: Epilogue (AKA Part 4) « DelightfulEccentric’s Weblog