Team Jacob, but not Team Taylor

My friend geauxgirl sent me a blog post from author Jen Lancaster the other day that made me laugh out loud.  She went to see New Moon, and the only people in the theater were women in their 30s and 40s.  When the character of Jacob took off his shirt, all the women gasped, then laughed, “and suddenly every Cougar for Cullen in that room started doing the kind of math that does not lead to any answer other than shame and possible jail time.” 

I read all the Twilight books, and New Moon was by far my favorite, so I was looking forward to seeing the movie.  I’ve been on “Team Jacob” all along.  (Hm, pasty skinny pale cold as marble chest vs. yummy muscled searing hot cut chest…let me think…)  I’d seen that Jacob Lautner had bulked up for the new film, and I was thinking he was looking pretty hot.  Not in a statutory rape kind of way, just in a…hell, have you seen him?

I had yesterday off and decided to see New Moon with the cougars, rather than the tweens.  And I really enjoyed it.  I think they did a good job.  Robert Pattinson is growing on me as Edward, and Taylor lived up to my expectations, bod-wise.  Kristin Stewart, I’ve thought all along, is perfect as Bella.  The only part I cringed at was the first appearance of a wolf.  The wolf was not…believable.  After that first appearance, it wasn’t as bad, although I don’t know if it was just that it was less noticable after the first time. 

But here is the surprise.  Unless he’s smiling and good-natured, Taylor does nothing for me, face-wise.  I just want to cut him off at the neck and paste someone else’s face on the body.  When he smiles, though, I think he looks quite a bit like Matt Damon.  I think it’s the smile.  And that’s when I really *heart* him.  Not in an icky “he’s underage” way, but in a “he’s so darn cute how can you not love him” way.

        

Comments are closed.