Ain’t Too Proud To Beg

You know the song, right? “I know you wanna leave me, but I refuse to let you go. If I have to beg and plead for your sympathy, I don’t mind coz’ you mean that much to me. Ain’t too proud to beg, sweet darling, Please don’t leave me girl, don’t you go.”

Great song. I love that song. You hear it, and you can’t help but sing along. Gotta love the Temptations! They were, after all, the first “’boy band.” 🙂

But…..

If you’re in a relationship with someone, should you beg them to stay if you know they want out? If they stay, won’t that just postpone the inevitable demise of the relationship?

Or is begging supposed to by a way to show how much you truly care? If the other person is thinking about leaving because they think you don’t care about them, then I guess begging would work.

I think I prefer the advice in “Leave the Pieces” by the Wreckers. “It’s all right, I’ll be fine, don’t worry ‘bout this heart of mine, just take your love and hit the road. There’s nothing you can do or say, You’re gonna break my heart, anyway, So just leave the pieces when you go.”

It’s almost painful in it’s honesty.

Ooo, this opens up a whole new avenue for me. I might after to start blogging about the relationship advice in songs. Won’t that be fun?

For your enjoyment:

       

8 responses to “Ain’t Too Proud To Beg

  1. Awesome songs, both of these. The Temptations are amazing — gotta love oldies. But the last song rings more true indeed. But maybe it’s because back int eh ’60s, dating was also different. Since the guy had more power, what had he to lose by begging? Whereas no women sang ‘ain’t too proud too beg.’ Instead they sang things about them crying when the guy left. But yay for girl power, and now they tell the guy to leave and that they’ll be fine in songs. As it should be. Yeaa! 🙂 Thanks for posting these two.

    • delightfuleccentric

      Good point – things were different back then. I hadn’t thought of that. But you forgot about “Respect” and “I Will Survive” – No women crying there! 😉

  2. It’s hard to say at times. Sometimes I think there are other factors in each situation as well that can or can’t be rectified. I feel that in my recent case anyway, sometimes external influences can make or break a relationship, and it doesn’t have to involve cheating or infidelity.

    • delightfuleccentric

      I don’t think any of my breakups have involved cheating. Most of the time, they just fizzle out, on one end or the other. But there are times when the fizzle is still there, but you can’t be together – that’s the worst, I think. It’s like, if we’re so great together, why can’t we make it work? Because of your job or mine, or whatever. And at what point do you give up on one or the other (love or external force)? It’s a tough call – luckily one I haven’t had to make (yet).

  3. I think I’m more of a Reba McIntire- Consider Me Gone kinda gal. No begging for me, I’m usually out of there first.

    • delightfuleccentric

      I kind of go back and forth. I know with my breakup with Soccer Guy, I was like, “See ya!” Then I started wondering if I shouldn’t have tried harder. But then, I think too much – THAT’S my biggest problem! 🙂

  4. A couple random thoughts, here:

    * With regard to “Ain’t to Proud to Beg”, I was pathetic when my gf broke up with me, and I did everything I could to woo her back. Then, I succeeded in wooing her back. We moved across the country, started a new life together, got married, had kids… and our marriage sucked the soul right out of me. In the end, I think she settled for me. I was a ‘safe’ option for her, and we both wanted kids. Long story short: Flush twelve years or so of what are supposed to be the best years of my life down the toilet. (We are now on a slow boat to divorce.) So, my advice? Be too proud to beg.

    * With regard to relationship advice in music: man, oh, man. There are so many great, great tunes with awful, awful advice. Such as:

    – “It’s in His Kiss (The Shoop Shoop Song)” (can you hear this and *not* sing along?)
    – “Johnny Get Angry”
    – “If You Can’t Be With the One You Love (Love the One You’re With)”

    There are more. Many many more. This could be a fun topic to explore for a lonnnng time.

  5. Pingback: (Shoop Shoop) « DelightfulEccentric’s Weblog