Back to School

I’ve been seriously considering taking a class at the local community college next semester.  Not for credit, not to go towards a degree, just for fun.  A class that I find interesting, and fun, and enlightening.  Now I just have to decide which class to take, because I have a list of about 10 that I think would be interesting.

I found this post:  100 Totally Fun and Weird College Courses you can take online for free.  Offerings include:

  • Magic, Witchcraft and the Spirit World, offered by MIT. 
  • Creole Language and Culture, from Notre Dame.
  • Physics of Rock Climbing, MIT.
  • Kitchen Chemistry, MIT.  (I listed that one specifically for the two Jen’s!)
  • Nine Lessons Learned About Creativity at Google, offered by Stanford.
  • Eat Well for Less, Oregon State.
  • The Dark Age, UMass Boston.  (I might have to take this one – I love studying The Middle Ages.)

There are some well-known and prestigious universities – just think, you could tell people you were taking classes at MIT or UC Berkley.  How much fun would that be?

I love classes that make learning fun.  If it’s fun, if you enjoy it, then you’re more likely to care about learning.  That’s one of the problems with the public school system in general, I think.  Learning isn’t fun, so kids don’t want to learn.  They study the basics, enough to pass the all-important tests, but it’s not retained for future use.

My favorite college professor was Dr. Hodges.  She was so enthusiastic about her subject, and she was always having so much fun when she lectured, that you couldn’t help but be drawn in.  I wouldn’t be surprised if she also had a theatre background, because she knew how to hold your attention, even in an auditorium with 100+ students.  I will never forget one lecture in particular, when she was talking about the “bathrooms” in medieval castles.  She drew it out on a transparency, told us how it worked, and said, “Isn’t that the coolest thing ever?”  And it kind of was, because she thought it was so cool.

2 responses to “Back to School

  1. I’m totally going to check out the Kitchen Chemistry class.

  2. Yes to the Kitchen Chemistry class. And the dark ages one. I love the middle ages as well – so fascinating!