I’m better with nature…

I’m having serious photo issues.  I keep trying to take pictures of items to post online, and they just don’t turn out looking too great.  The problem is, I don’t get enough bright, natural sunlight in my condo to take decent pictures without a flash.  And when the flash goes off, it reflects off what I’m trying to take a picture of.  I thought I had found a solution to the problem.  I made a light box, and the pictures seemed to look okay on my camera.  But then I downloaded them, and they’re not so great.
Light Box on the cheap
Light Box on the cheap

The light box is a cardboard box with the two sides and the top cut out, white tissue paper taped over the holes, and white posterboard on the bottom and back.  Put lamps all around it, and it provides “good light” for photos.

 
Notecards in Light box
Notecards in Light box

Is it just me, or does it look really grainy?  They are pastel pink notecards with turquoise stamps.  Can’t really tell the pink part so well, huh?

 
The same cards, taken outside, in the shade:
Japanese notecards outside, in shade
 
I don’t know what to do to take good pictures!!  I’m at my wit’s end.  Any ideas?
 
 
3 responses to “I’m better with nature…

  1. What kind of camera are you using?

  2. delightfuleccentric

    A Canon elph. It’s probably 8 or more years old – I desperately need a new camera. I’m going to borrow a camera this weekend and see if maybe that’s the issue.

  3. Good news! I’m thinking it’s probably the camera and not you. We pooled our holiday money and bought a “good” camera for ourselves for Christmas a couple of years ago and it takes great pictures. Borrowing is always a great option–you are welcome to use it whenever you want until you get a new one.