Weight, weight, don’t tell me

To lose weight, one must burn more calories than one consumes, correct? Of course, there’s more to it, and you can get all technical, but the basic premise is true, right?

Then I can’t figure out why I’m not losing weight.

Let me take you through my diet (and by “diet” I mean what I eat, and not a regimented plan):

  • Breakfast generally consists of a Slimfast shake, unless I magically have more time, in which case it’s a bowl of Special K (Protein Plus). Both are approximately 200 calories (including the milk).
  • Lunch usually is a chicken sandwich, with 2 slices of wheat toast, a wedge of Laughing Cow cheese, exactly 2 ounces of grilled chicken, and spinach (approx. 300 calories).
  • Dinner is a hodgepodege – might be a bowl of cereal, might be a serving of fish with pasta and/or vegetables, might just be a small thing of yogurt (100 calories) if I’m not hungry, but know that I should eat something.
  • Snacks may include one or two (but rarely three) of the following: 100 calorie pack, peanuts (160 calories), or a serving of dry cereal (100 calories). 
  • Some days I also have an apple, and I keep freeze dried fruit in my drawer for a little sweet snack (freeze dried blueberries have almost 0 calories and no fat).

Now, just to be clear, I do eat actual serving sizes, weighed on a scale, so I’m not overestimating serving sizes. Are all days like this? No, but most days are, I’d say 4 out of 5 business days. Weekends are a little more erratic, but I would still say I stay around 1500 calories.

I also generally get at least half an hour of exercise, at least 5 days a week. Some days I get up to an hour and a half. I wear a heart rate monitor when I work out, and I generally burn 150-250 calories per half hour, depending on what I’m doing. My lunchtime workouts (2-4 days a week) consist of 30 minutes on either the bike or the treadmill. My after hours workouts might be aerobics, pilates, or more walking, for half an hour to an hour.

Now, I figure my base metabolism is probably around 1800 calories. Add the exercise in there. And subtract the calories consumed.

Most days, I should be burning 500-1000 calories more than I take in – some days it’s high, some days it’s low.

BUT I’M NOT LOSING WEIGHT.

And no, it’s not muscle weight, my clothes are not fitting any better. And really, that’s my main concern. I don’t care about the number on the scale – 120, 150, 200 – as long as my clothes fit!

Fine, I’m over 30 and my metabolism has dropped. But THAT much?

I’m getting protein – probably 30 grams on a low day, and up to 75 on a high day. I drink plenty of water (6-12 glasses a day).

I’ve really had this problem since my knee injury, a year and a half ago. I haven’t been able to run since then, and I really think running would solve all my problems. (&^(%ing knee.)

It’s just so darn frustrating! I’m doing things right, for the most part. Could I use more fruits and veggies? Of course. But really, I do pretty well, I think.

So what’s the problem?

One response to “Weight, weight, don’t tell me

  1. You may be eating too little…

    The body is a smart machine and if it thinks its in a starving situation, it will naturally slow down the metabolism.