Flu Shots

I’ve never had a flu shot. Why? Well, first, I’ve never had the flu to the extent that I never want to have it ever again. I remember one year, at Christmas, my mother was deathly ill with the flu. After that episode, she has religiously gotten a flu shot every year. I’ve heard others say the same thing – “I never want to be that sick again.” Well, I haven’t experienced it, so I don’t know how bad it is. Second, I’ve heard of people getting a flu shot and subsequently being “the sickest they’ve ever been.” I’d rather not go through that, thanks. Third, there have been shortages of the flu vaccine in the past, and I never felt like taking one away from someone who needed it more than me. I think the elderly and people with underlying illnesses should get the shot first, then kids, then healthy people. I’m young, I’m healthy, I am fully capable of fighting off a flu bug.

My reasoning is changing, though, thanks to H1N1. I’m considering getting a shot this year. But I wonder if it’s being over-hyped, much like Avian Flu, and it will amount to nothing. Do I take the chance?

What are your thoughts on flu shots?

2 responses to “Flu Shots

  1. Having a fear of needles has allowed me to avoid flu shots my entire life. However, I’m pretty much over the fear during the last few years and still don’t see the point in getting a flu shot. Even with H1N1 and Avian and all the regular kinds – they’re all treatable. I’m not worried.

    Famous last words, hope not! 🙂

  2. I’ve been harping for years that Anti-Bacterial soaps were going to cause drastic mutations and people thought I was luny, well now we have studies showing just that. Personally I feel the same is possible with Flu vaccines, problem is, yes this flu vaccine may save you this time but what about the potential damage it could be causing for later? I’m not even going to go into the fact that this vaccine may not even be the correct version for this specific seasons flue as was demonstrated two years ago. That renders it completely useless.