“Approach love and cooking with equal abandon”

So, I have this friend.  My friend is completely in love with his girlfriend, and she…kind of likes him.  And he’s really upset about it, and doesn’t know what to do.  And it got me thinking about another friend, who’s been engaged for several years, who often laments that “it sucks being the one who loves the most.”  Because you’re the one who ends up hurt.

I’ve been on both sides of the coin in the past.  It’s such a hard balancing act, really, in a “new” relationship.  You have to open yourself up, but you’re so incredibly scared of getting hurt, so you pull back.  And often, pulling back is what does you in. 

I know.  Been there, done that.

So the best advice I can offer my friend is, to quote The Dalai Lama, “Approach love and cooking with equal abandon.”  That’s what I always try to remember.  Sometimes it’s hard to remember.

Comments are closed.