You deserve what you accept

Definitions from dictionary.com:

  • Respect: [ri-spekt], v.  to hold in esteem or honor:  I cannot respect a cheat.
  • Consideration: [kuhn-sid-uh-rey-shuhn], n.  thoughtful or sympathetic regard or respect; thoughtfulness for others:  They showed no consideration for his feelings.
  • Expectation: [ek-spek-tey-shuhn], n.  the act or the state of expecting:  to wait in expectation.  The act or state of looking forward or anticipating.  The degree of probability that something will occur:  There is little expectation that he will come.
  • Communication:  [kuh-myoo-ni-key-shuhn], n.  the act or process of communicating; the imparting or interchange of thoughts, opinions, or information by speech, writing, or signs.

A good friend of mine once told me about a bumper sticker that pretty much changed her life – it said, “You deserve what you accept.”

I’m done accepting.

 

**A note of clarification – all examples in italics above came from dictionary.com – they are their examples.  I am not saying anything about anyone in particular with those examples.  I could delete this post entirely, to avoid speculation, but I still believe in the premise – You deserve what you accept, and if you accept something you don’t like without putting up a fight, then you deserve it and you can’t complain.  That applies to all aspects of life – work, family, and love.  There’s a reason my friend found it life changing.  She and I wouldn’t be as close as we are if she hadn’t read that bumper sticker and “woke up.”

4 responses to “You deserve what you accept

  1. Done accepting what? How are you doing? I just saw your FB status.

  2. delightfuleccentric

    You can apply this to anything you want. If you accept less respect from your peers, colleagues, friends, you deserve it. If you accept less pay for an equal job, you deserve it. If you accept the woman at the DMV giving you an attitude, you deserve it. If you accept BS from anyone, you deserve it.

    I’m done accepting crap. I’m done accepting BS excuses. I’m done with being treated with less respect than I deserve. I’m done. Period. The gloves are coming off and The Bitch is on the clock. Fair Warning.

    And that’s all the information I’m giving out at this time.

  3. We love ya. And we’re here when you’re ready. Or not. Good or bad. Or somewhere inbetween. All that, AND a bag of chips.

    *smooches*

  4. delightfuleccentric

    and some mashed potatoes, and coleslaw, and a fudge brownie… 🙂