Sacrifice

For Lent, I decided to give up mindless snacking. When I get bored or frustrated, a lot of times I reach for a bag of chips or some crackers. So, for the next 40 days (and hopefully beyond that) I’m going to make a valiant effort not to eat if I’m not actually hungry.

It’s difficult for me to give something up, because I’m very much a hedonist, I think. I believe that you should enjoy life, and if you want something, then you should have it. (Within reason, of course – if you want your co-worker dead, I suggest you not give in to that desire.) If you want a glass of wine, go for it. If you want a piece of chocolate cake, go for it. Not really a “live every day as if it’s your last” philosophy (because if I did that, I certainly wouldn’t go to work every day!), but I don’t really believe in self-denial. As I’ve always said, everything in moderation.

The other thing I’m going to work on (I don’t know if this would be in the category of “giving something up” or “adding something” to my life) is not giving in to insecurity and negativity. I think I’m generally a happy person, and I don’t mope around all the time, but I think that sometimes my natural sarcastic/sardonic attitude is harmful. And lord knows my insecurity, which I don’t give into all too often, is detrimental to my happiness.

The problem I’m having is that I’m not sure where to draw the line with the negativity. Is complaining about today’s music program at work negative? Is saying “I’m tired” and whining about wanting to go back to bed negative? What if I say it in an upbeat way with a smile on my face? It reminds me of that scene in 10 Things I Hate About You, when Cameron says, “We’re screwed,” and his friend says, “I don’t want to hear that defeatist attitude, I want to hear you upbeat,” and Cameron says, “We’re screwed” in an upbeat tone of voice.

And the insecurity – if someone doesn’t call when he’s supposed to, I’m not going to automatically assume he wants to break up with me. I’m going to remember all the good, and just blame it on him being a “stupid boy.”

Anyone else doing something for Lent that they want to share?

Comments are closed.