Freaking Out

(Breathing…..Breathing…..Breathing…)

Well, now I know what it feels like. 

My coworker came up and said, “I just heard a plane crashed in the Hudson.”

I immediately went online, to check the plane.  In the meantime, I got two other emails from people, checking.  As soon as I knew it wasn’t his plane, I emailed everyone I could, to let them know. 

But knowing doesn’t mean I didn’t continue to freak out.

I didn’t try calling him, because I knew he was getting bombarded with phone calls.  He would call me when he could, I was sure.  I left work, and when I was almost home he finally called.  Just hearing his voice calmed me more, but I’m still a little shaken.  This is the first time I’ve had to deal with it. 

Bottom line – He’s fine, everyone on the plane is fine, and huge kudos to the pilots for doing such an amazing job in getting the plane in.  It could have been so much worse.

I’m having a beer, and trying to breathe.  Still having a hard time.  Adrenaline is a nasty thing.

2 responses to “Freaking Out

  1. I didn’t know he flew for US Air. I’m so glad everything is okay.

  2. Partner of a Pilot

    So, you never left a link to this blog on mine before! I’m glad I finally found it! I’ll add you to my blogroll now!

    I’m so glad that your guy was okay, even though we were at home together-I still had a lump in my throat when I heard the news…