January 2nd

I don’t really believe in making New Year’s Resolutions.  Why should I save those kinds of things for the first of the year?  Why not have Resolutions.  Period.  When you think you need to make a change to your life, do it.  Right then.  Don’t wait until January 1, or until Lent, or until your birthday, or summer, or winter, or until you get a promotion.  I don’t want to sound trite, but Just Do It, for crying out loud!!

In November, I sat down and did some major financial thinking.  It was a long time coming.  I’m keeping track of every penny that goes out, even if it’s just 65¢ at the snack machine. 

Today, I decided I need to do some major overhaul to my wardrobe, so I’ve set aside a certain amount every month to get something new. 

My next resolution might be to watch less TV, or to re-paint my bathroom.  Who knows.  But when I’m ready to do it, I’ll do it.  And not a moment before then.

One response to “January 2nd

  1. I do like resolutions – but mostly fun ones. And I tend to make certain that if I’m serious about a goal, I start it at an odd time – like on October 7th or something. I feel that if I start it on January 1, it’s doomed to fail. A weird thing, I know.
    If you overhaul your wardrobe, can I go shopping with you? It’d be like an HBC “What Not to Wear”!