You’re such a Knurd!!

You know when you have one of those glaring examples of being a complete idiot?

Take, for example, my current realization of idiocy.  The Flying Saucer – their website can be found at www.beerknurd.com.  I have the t-shirt that says Beer Knurd, I got it when I signed up for the UFO club.  I know the term, I’ve heard it for years.

Yesterday, I was reading about the etymology of the term “nerd.”  (I was eating nerds, I wondered if the candy was named for the “nerd” or the “nerd” was named for the candy – yeah, I know, don’t ask.)  I found that the first documented use of the word “nerd” came from Dr. Seuss’s If I Ran the Zoo(1950).  The slang meaning, “square,” dates to 1951.  An alternate spelling, “nurd”, appeared in the mid-60s or early 70s, “but its first recorded use appeared in a 1965 student publication at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.  Oral tradition there holds that the word is derived from “knurd” (“drunk” spelled backwards), which was used to describe people who studied rather than partied.”  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nerd

Now, I just want to be clear – I’m not feeling like an idiot because I didn’t know the etymology of “nerd.”

I’m feeling like an idiot because I never realized “knurd” was “drunk” spelled backwards! 

 

Comments are closed.