Techno-Curse

I think I pissed off the Tech Gods.  Not only was my internet out for a week, but the thumb drive that held my NaNoWriMo book and most of my new business venture stuff crashed…or whatever it is thumb drives do.  So, needless to say, I’m not winning NaNoWriMo this year. 

So, my internet has been going in and out for a while now.  Then, it just died completely.  I thought maybe the cable modem went out, so I went up to the cable company and exchanged the modem.  But that wasn’t the problem.  Monday night The Pilot tried hooking up the new modem, with no luck.  He called the cable company and did the troubleshooting while I cooked dinner – thank god, because I hate doing troubleshooting, and really hate troubleshooting computer stuff.  Nothing worked though, so they set up a tech to come out and take a look.

I groaned.  I was trying so hard to avoid having a tech out.  Why?  Not because of the god-awful hours that they make you wait.  No, I could deal with that.  But I’ve been getting cable for free for a while now (not stealing, mind you – they just never came out to turn it off when I cancelled it) and I was worried the cable guy would switch it off while he was here.  But, internet is far more important than cable, and I can watch TV on the internet, so I figured I’d deal.

So, cable guy came out, found a bad splitter BEHIND the wall plate (I always thought it was a splitter issue, I just didn’t think it would be one I couldn’t see), and I have internet again.

And I still have cable. 🙂

So, now I’m catching up on everything online related.  And mourning the loss of a thumb drive.

Comments are closed.