National Novel Writing Month

I decided to do NaNoWriMoagain this year.  So, of course, I’m starting out the month by procrastinating and writing a blog post instead of actually starting my novel.

NaNoWriMo challenges you to write 50,000 words between November 1 and November 30.  I tried doing it a couple of times, but would only get about 2000 words in before giving up.  Except for 2006, when I “won.”  It actually didn’t turn out half bad, if I do say so myself…now if I could just buckle down and edit the thing, fill it out, and submit it to a publisher. 

Winning doesn’t get you a publishing deal, or a monetary reward, simply the satisfaction of being able to say you wrote a novel in 30 days.  Oh, and it makes you actually buckle down and write, rather than saying, “I’ll get around to writing someday…” 

Anyway, I’m going to work on it again this November, see if I can’t write another novel, and maybe actually do something with it.  Interested in trying it out yourself?  Let me know, we can be writing buddies!

2 responses to “National Novel Writing Month

  1. i guess novel writing month means no blog writing month, eh?

  2. delightfuleccentric

    Argh – variety of issues have prevented me from blogging. Yes, nanowrimo, but also starting my new business. And let’s not forget the rampant computer issues I’ve been having over the past week. I finally gave up on my wireless today and hardwired my internet connection. Still having Norton issues, though…