What are the issues? How do I know who to vote for?

I can’t keep up with all the political issues and what each candidate believes.  I would need to watch TV ten hours a day and surf the internet the rest of the time to be fully up to speed on everything I should be to cast an educated vote.  Of course, I know who I like better, but I would feel better voting if I can back it up with more than, “I really dislike the other guy.”

I found a pretty good site today, where you can learn about the issues and each candidates view on these issues.  They also have a great quiz which simply asks you what your views are on the issues, and tells you how much you match each of the candidates.  This works for the presidential and VP election, the Senate race, and points to your political philosophy.  This negates any preconceived notions you might have about a candidate, so that you really are voting on the issues important to you, rather than who you think looks better in a suit. 

The quiz also breaks down the issues so you know what each means.  Some are easy – we all know how we feel about this question: (“Support” to the far left, “Oppose” to the far right, “No Opinion” in the middle)

Abortion is a woman’s right   o   o   o   o   o  

Less clear:

Allow churches to provide welfare services   o   o   o   o   o

Well, what does this mean to me?  You can click on the issue and it breaks it down – if you strongly support it, then you believe this.  If you oppose it, then you believe this.  Then, if you’re still not sure, it tells you that you might also support other statements (such as, “Faith-based organizations can provide services better than the government can.”)

We have 49 days left to Election Day.  I can’t wait until it’s over – I’m sick of the ads, I’m sick of the mud-slinging, I’m sick of hearing the advisers on both sides twist things into something bad.  (Although, I can continue to watch Fey-as-Palin – it’s the one bright spot during election season.)

Wake me when it’s over.

One response to “What are the issues? How do I know who to vote for?

  1. Fey as Palin is the funniest damn thing I have seen in a long time. Tina Fey is totally amazing.