What would you do?

There was a story about a year ago, about a British man who was misdiagnosed with terminal cancer.  When he was told he had terminal cancer, “he decided to to spend his remaining time in style, quitting his job and spending his savings on hotels, restaurants and holidays.”  After finding out it was a misdiagnosis, he sought compensation.  See articles here, here, and here.  All of these are about him suing…but I haven’t been able to find anything about the outcome.

So my question to you is a two-parter.  What would you do if doctors told you that you had…say, six months to live?  And what would you do if you found out, after the fact, that you weren’t going to die, at least not from the diagnosed disease? 

I can answer the first question pretty easily.  I would do exactly as Mr. Brandrick did, which is cash in everything I had and live every moment to the fullest, doing as many things on my “bucket list” that I could.

The second question is much more difficult to answer.  “Oh, guess what, we were wrong, you’re NOT going to die.”  Great!  WooHoo!  I’m not going to die!  But…I just cashed in my life savings and spent it all.  Yes, I got to do all those great things, but…I now have to work until I do actually die, because I don’t have anything in 401(k) or my IRA or my savings.  Nope, no retirement for me!!

No, medicine is not always an exact science, but…shouldn’t there be some accountability, something more than just an “oops, sorry!”?

One response to “What would you do?

  1. Partner of a Pilot

    HAHAHAHAHA! I was going to say only in America, but I can’t!!! What a loser! He should have got down on his knees and thanked God that he was misdiagnosed, not jumped straight on the phone to a solicitor to sue the doctor!

    Jeeeeez! What is up with people?! He could get another job, and just enjoy the happy memories of living his high life when he did, each and every day that he doesn’t have terminal cancer is just one more day that he can say I got a second chance!