Lesson learned from The Bachelorette

I never really watch The Bachelor or The Bachelorette.  I think, prior to the current Bachelorette with DeAnna, I’ve seen the show maybe five times.  But somehow I got sucked into the current season.  I only intended to watch the first episode.  That didn’t work out so well.

The thing that strikes me, every time I watch the show, is how incredibly open DeAnna is.  Her heart was broken on National TV less than a year ago, and yet here she is, her heart incredibly wide open, her desire to find love completely unbridled. 

I fully realize that I get in my own way a lot of the time.  I realize that I’m too quiet for my own good, that I need to open up more, that I need to take risks with my heart.  But it’s one of those things that’s easier said than done.  The thought of being that vulnerable scares the shit out of me.

So how do I get past my own personality?  How do I open my heart up?  Is there some secret I should know about, some sort of instructional course I can take?

And, if you watch the show, who are you rooting for?  Personally, I totally love Jason (the one with the kid).  🙂

 

3 responses to “Lesson learned from The Bachelorette

  1. I have never seen either Bachelor or Bachelorette, although I’ve heard so much about this season I almost want to start watching.

    Ah, but then you had an earlier post about how the men on the show remind you why you’ve remained single. Will watching make me even more cynical and disillusioned?

  2. You said: So how do I get past my own personality?

    Your personality is just fine. 🙂 Don’t think for a second that it’s not. And deep down, you know it too! (as well you should) Heck, pull a Stuart Smiley “and dog gone it, people LIKE me” if you have to.

    Musing: Isn’t it riskier to hide your true self (by being quiet or whatever), than it is to just let your true self be seen? Or is that a form of self-protection? (as in I don’t want to show you ME until I know if I can trust or like you first.)

    I only ask because really, we’re all a bit of the same person like that…. 🙂

  3. delightfuleccentric

    LenaB – did I say something about The Bachelorette before? I don’t remember. But if I did, it just goes to show that I’m a woman and I get to change my mind. 🙂

    guess! – I think I have an idea. 🙂 It’s not that I’m TRYING to hide my true self, or TRYING to be quiet – That’s just how I am when I’m in a strange/new situation. It’s not necessarily with strangers, because I’m perfectly fine on a first date. But it’s definitely a form of self-protection. Now I just need to get PAST THAT.