Learn Something About…The Defenestration of Prague

I was a history major in college.  Fat lot of good it did me.  No, I don’t ask “Do you want fries with that?” on a regular basis.  I did a little better than that.  But I’m not using my degree, and I find I’m losing most of my history knowledge.  Scratch that – I find I’ve LOST much of my history knowledge.

A couple of years ago, my first go round on Match, Soccer Guy won my heart early on by emailing me something along the lines of, “A history major, huh?  So if I wanted to know about the Defenestration of Prague, you’d be my girl.”  And I was clueless as to what the hell he was talking about.  He had to remind me, and then I remembered a lecture about it – but you would really think with a word like defenestration, I would have remembered that.  Trust me, I’m not likely to forget it again.

Defenestration is the act of throwing someone or something out of a window.  According to Wikipedia, it was used historically to refer to an act of political dissent.

The most famous defenestration, the Defenestration of Prague, occurred in 1618.  Actually, there were two Defenestrations of Prague, the first of which was in 1419, but the more famous was in 1618.  This event was central in the start of the Thirty Years’ War, which started as a religious conflict between Protestants and Catholics in the Holy Roman Empire.  Some Catholic officials tried to halt construction of Protestant chapels, stating that Catholic Clergy owned the land.  The Protestants argued that the land was royal and available for use, and interpreted the attempt to halt construction as a violation of their freedom of religious expression.  On May 23, 1618, in Prague Castle, two Imperial Governors were tried and found guilty of violating the Protestants’ rights, and they were thrown out the window – the high window (how high, I don’t know).  The two lived, and according to them it was divine intervention and thus proved the righteousness of their cause.  The Protestants argued that they survived due to the large pile of manure outside the window.

Which just goes to show, piling on the shit may just save your butt.

3 responses to “Learn Something About…The Defenestration of Prague

  1. from one history major to another, this was a very interesting post!

  2. delightfuleccentric

    I didn’t know you were a history major! So, you’re using your degree about as much as I’m using mine, huh?

  3. Pingback: Learn Something About…Franz Ferdinand « DelightfulEccentric’s Weblog