I have a bad feeling about this…

So, I went to Dallas this weekend to see some old friends, as well as family.  It was great, a lot of fun.  Dallas was so green, and it looked so pretty, and I could definitely see myself moving back, should the opportunity present itself.  Of course, come August, I know I would be cursing myself.

My flight back was uneventful.  I was worried about my connection, as I had a 55 minute layover in Atlanta, and had to change concourses, but I made it with time to spare.  Got into Charlotte and went to baggage claim.  And waited.  And waited.  Yeah, you guessed it – they lost my bag.

Came home, watched a cheesy-a$$ Family Channel movie (which was really worse than usual), and went to sleep.  Woke up at about 3:30 this morning because it was raining, and there was this “drip-drip-drip” that was driving me crazy.  I listened to it for about ten minutes before I thought – that doesn’t sound like it’s on the patio.  I got up, turned on a light, but didn’t see anything.  But it was definitely coming from the patio door area.  I decided to put some clothes on and investigate further (nothing quite like standing on a ladder wearing nothing but your skimpy skivvies).

Sure enough, a definite drip coming…FROM THE WALL.  That’s the first time rain has done that.  That’s not good.  Not good at all.  I went out on the patio to check it…and saw water streaming down the outside wall.  And no rain in sight.

Ran upstairs to my 2nd floor neighbor, rang her doorbell until she got up.  She checked her porch – same problem (although she didn’t have the interior issue).  Rang the 3rd floor neighbor’s door.  “No, it’s not me, but I’ll go check.”  Sure enough – his water heater busted. 

Ever try going back to sleep after something like this has happened, and you’re running around freaking out?  Impossible.

Oh, and my phone is beeping low battery…and guess where the charger is?  Yep, somewhere between here and Dallas.

I have a feeling I’m in for a bad week.

One response to “I have a bad feeling about this…

  1. sara,

    that SUCKS. I already told you that, but it really really sucks. I hope they find your luggage soon. Did you change airlines? I lost my luggage once and waited 2 days with no response. I finally went to the airport and checked with every single airline’s lost luggage department…sure enough, an airline i didn’t even fly with had it. What a clusterfuck.

    Saw Scottsdale at jury duty today but only from an escalator and didn’t want to shout out “Hey! Remember me from shrimp taco night?!”

    Here’s to a better week. See you Friday!