Brandied Apples

I’m hosting my cooking club this month, and I’ve decided the theme will be Alcohol.  Everything we make has to include some sort of alcohol as an ingredient.  Fun, huh? 🙂  I’m responsible for the main dish, but I may have to make this dish as well, because I love it and it’s been a while since I made it.

6 Golden Delicious Apples
1 cup orange juice
2-  3″pieces of cinnamon stick
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup brandy

Pare, halve, core, and cut apples into eighths (or use one of those apple corers that slices while it cores – genius!).  Place in a large saucepan; add orange juice and cinnamon sticks.  Bring to boiling; lower heat and simmer, covered, for 10 minutes or until apples are tender but still firm (just how I like my kisses…).  Remove from heat; stir in sugar and brandy.  Cool; spoon into a container.  Can be stored in the refrigerator up to one month.  Makes 5 cups (about 10-12 servings).  Great as an accompaniment to pork, ham, or poultry, or as a dessert.

**Cook’s notes:  Of course, I add more brandy.  My rule of thumb is to pretty much double the alcohol in any recipe.  Of course, keep in mind who you’re making it for.  I took it to work once, and one girl got a little tipsy…oops.  And before you go and say “the alcohol is cooked out,” I recently found out that if alcohol is added to boiling mix and removed from heat, it retains 85% of the alcohol content.  This recipe calls for you to remove from heat THEN add alcohol, so it’s pretty much full strength.

3 responses to “Brandied Apples

  1. Molsen ale makes the best spaghetti sauce. We call it ‘Molsen ghetti’. Just add a bottle of it to a pot of sauce with meatballs & sausage. You can smell it for blocks and it’s fabulous. We’ve tried other beers and ales, but only Molsen makes that fabulous flavor spaghetti sauce. Also, blackberry brandy makes a barbeque sauce that rocks too! It goes in after the onions & garlic have become translucent in the olive oil. Then the catsup, tomato sauce, and brown sugar.

  2. The brandied apples recipe looks lovely, so I am going to make it this evening to take to my Mum and Dad.