Dating Update

(back story) 

I did end up going out with Bicep Guy.  The date was kind of doomed from the beginning.  He was cancelling his match subscription, and I could tell that he came into the date thinking, “Okay, this is the last first date I have to go on, I just have to get through the night.”  So that was a hard hurdle to get over.  But I always try to be engaging, so we talked some, and had a couple of beers.  I asked him about some of the dates he had been on.  He said his first date was awful, and his second to last date was horrible, and that pretty much summed up the term of his match subscription.  I jokingly asked if I was his second to last date, and he laughed and lightened up some and said no.  He walked me to my car, and as he was walking away I said, “I hope tonight wasn’t too painful!” (I’m such a flirt.)  He laughed and said no, and as I drove home I figured I wouldn’t be hearing from him again.

So imagine my surprise when I got a text from him before I had made it home – “No it was painful!  Just kidding!  You seem like fun.” To which I responded, “Well, I try to be more fun than painful – at least on the first date.”  I emailed him the next day, said I’d like to get to know him more, etc, if he was interested.  He emailed back and said he was – but he was going to be out of town for the next week.  He’s due back some time this week – so we’ll see…

Scottsdale…We’ve been seeing quite a bit of each other.  He asked me out for Valentine’s Day – actually, he asked if I wanted to do dinner “next Thursday,” and I said yes before I realized that it was Valentine’s Day.  Very nice dinner (we’re talking one of those $$$$ in the restaurant guide), and it was very casual – not nearly as weird as I was afraid it was going to be.  Oh, and he actually MAILED me a Valentine’s Day card – how cute is that?  No flowers or other gifts, for which I was incredibly grateful. 

The Priest.  Yes, you heard me correctly – The Priest.  He’s an Episcopalian Priest.  On match.  I’ve said it before – What DID we do before the internet??  Anyway, this guy winked at me, and I checked out his profile.  He seemed like my kind of guy – and then I read the Priest part.  And I was like – NO WAY.  Then I thought about it, and thought – why not?  If nothing else, I’m sure we could have some highly intelligent conversations.  And I love a good religious discussion.  (I also figured it would be good fodder for The J&J Religion Study – website and explanation coming soon…hopefully…)  So I winked back, and he emailed me, and I emailed him back, editing myself somewhat out of respect (I kept it to “bull” without adding the obligatory “shit” at the end).  When he emailed me back, I nearly fell out of my chair!!  Actually, I may have fallen out of my chair.  First, he stated that dating was hard where he currently lives because the community has a large number of retirees, and he’s “not into the aged MILF thing.”  Okay (cartoon character head shake in surprise), The Priest uses the term MILF.  (head shake – my brain is starting to rattle.)  Then he agreed with something I had written in my email, and he said, “Yeah, sometimes I’m like ‘What the F*ck?!!?”  Except that the edit was mine, not his.  Wait – The Priest just wrote the F word!!  Several days later and I’m still kind of shell shocked.  And laughing my a$$ off!!

That’s about it for now – not a whole lot of action going on right now.  Oh, except to note that Scottsdale has told me he’s getting off of match.  When I asked why, he shrugged and said, “I like concentrating on one woman at a time.”  But, and I want to point this out, not once has he asked me to get off of match.  I feel like it shows a certain security on his part, which I like. 

Dating is fun.  🙂 

2 responses to “Dating Update

  1. Pingback: Dating Advice - Anything ‘08 : Blog Archive : Dating Update

  2. Yes, I hope to get the Religion Study up and running soon. You know, I sort of like the name “The J&J Religion Study” better than FaithCrashers. Perhaps we’ll change it.
    Anyway, LOVE that Scottsdale sent you a VDay card in the mail. That is awfully sweet and quite unassuming. Plus it doesn’t hurt that he took you out to a nice dinner.
    Quite interested to see what happens with the Priest. Perhaps I could interview him for my blog? Or maybe you could and be a guest post. 🙂