Ash Wednesday

I’ve decided what I’m giving up for Lent.  Not to sound “perfect” or anything, but I don’t have a lot of bad vices to consider giving up.  I don’t smoke.  I drink, but not heavily, and I’m not giving that up.  I drink some soda, but not a lot.  I eat sweets, but not a lot.  I don’t really eat fast food – if I need to get something quick I go to Chick-fil-a.  Their Chargrilled sandwich only has 240 calories and 3 grams of fat – really not bad, all things considered.  So I couldn’t really figure out what would be good to give up.

Then I got my electric bill.  It’s way up over last year, and I was trying to think of what would have made it go up.  Then I looked at my TV.  My new 42″ HD whatever.  Yeah, I bet that pulls more energy than my old 19-incher did.  So I decided to give up “TV for Company.”  You know, when you  get home from work and flip on the TV- doesn’t matter what it’s on – and then you putter around the house without really watching it.  I do it all the time…so I’m going to give it up.

Or at least try to.  What did I do when I got home from work tonight?  Purse down, computer on, reach for the remote. 

I caught myself, though.  Hopefully I can keep it up.

Comments are closed.