Tortilla Soup

I LOVE this soup – it’s so good.  I made it for my supper club the other night – and everyone else liked it, too!

 1 pound chicken or beef**
1 large onion, chopped
1/4 cup butter
1/3 cup flour
1 envelope taco seasoning
4 cups chicken broth or beef broth**
2 cups milk
1 cup red kidney beans, drained
1 cup rotel or chopped tomato
cheese, sour cream, black olives, lime, tortilla strips to top

Cook chicken (or beef) and onion, drain.  Melt butter, stir in flour.  Add taco seasoning, broth, milk.  Cook and stir until thickened and bubbly.  Stir in beans, rotel, and meat mix.  Stir over low heat.

**I prefer to use diced chicken and beef broth – I like the texture of the chicken over the beef, but the beef broth gives it a better taste, I think.  And I don’t use beans, because I don’t like them. 🙂 

This makes about 8 servings, and it takes about an hour for the soup to be “thickened and bubbly,” maybe more. 

Comments are closed.