Let’s talk politics

I am not the most political person.  I hate politics.  Really – I do.  It’s so…political.  But I feel the need to put my two cents in on a particular issue.

Issue at hand:  Hilary “diminished” MLK’s role in Civil Rights.  Basically, she said King’s dream of racial equality was only realized when the Civil Rights Act of 1964 was signed into law.

King did AMAZING things for the civil rights movement.  I have the highest respect for him – I think he was one of the most courageous men in history, and if I had a say I would make him a saint.

But here’s my thing – I don’t think it was realized when the Civil Rights Act was signed.  I STILL don’t think King’s dream has been realized as of today.  Yes, civil rights have come a long way and, legally, racism doesn’t exist.  But I know people – I am very close to people – who still believe that black people should be slaving in the fields, should not be working side by side with them, and definitely should not be dating interracially.

So is King’s dream fully realized?

Comments are closed.