Pa Rompa bom blah

I’m not a big fan of Christmas music.  It kind of puts me in a bad mood most of the time – maybe because they start playing it before Halloween.  There’s just so many times I can hear Jingle Bell Rock before I want to shoot myself in the head – twice is about my limit.  And don’t get me started on Little Drummer Boy – those “pa rompa bom boms” make me want to dig out my eardrums.  But there are a few songs I like – mostly guilty pleasures, because most of them are of questionable origin.  So I’ve decided to make my own playlist of Christmas songs, the ones I can listen to and enjoy.

Wham!: Last Christmas.  I can usually get away with this one, because everyone else likes it, too.
Band Aid: Do They Know It’s Christmas.  Cheesy, but again, most people like this song.
New Kids On The Block: This Boy’s Letter to Santa Clause.  Don’t laugh!!
Trans-Siberian Orchestra: Christmas Eve/Sarajevo 12/24 (often misnamed “Carol of the Bells”)
Santa Baby (I think Eartha Kitt’s version is the best)
Mariah Carey: All I Want for Christmas is You.  Possibly the sole Mariah song I like.
Jimmy Buffet: Christmas in the Caribbean.  Hm…palm trees or snow…tough decision….
Jose Feliciano:  Feliz Navidad.  Prospero ano y felizidad.
Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas – not sure I have a favorite artist.
Winter Wonderland – again, not sure I have a favorite artist.
3 responses to “Pa Rompa bom blah

  1. grahamregarding

    i know how you feel. i work retail and have to listen to xmas music 8 hours a day. it’s a little better than my old job though, they only had TWO different xmas cds playing all day long. that got old quick!

  2. Omg!! NKOTB’s Christmas “Cassette” b/c they didn’t have cd’s back then…was the best!!! I like “I still believe in Santa Claus” that Joey McIntyre was so cute!

  3. delightfuleccentric

    Yep, Joey was always my favorite 🙂