Sweet Potato Soup

I made this for my dinner club last night, so since I had to type it up for them, I thought I’d type it up here.  This is abridged and adapted from a weight watchers recipe:

2 large sweet potatoes
1 1/2 c chicken broth
1 Tbsp butter
1 Tbsp flour
1/4 tsp ginger
1 c evaporate milk
brown sugar

Preheat oven to 400°.  Pierce potatoes in several places with a fork.  Bake for 45 minutes, remove from oven and allow to cool.  When cool, remove and discard skin; chop

Combine sweet potatoes and chicken broth in a blender or food processor; blend or process until smooth, about 1 minute, and set aside

Melt butter in a medium-sized saucepan; stir in flour and ginger.  Add milk.  Cook, stirring, until slightly thickened and bubbly, about 5 minutes.  Cook 1 minute more and then stir in sweet potato mixture.  Cook, stirring, until heated through, about 5 minutes more.

Add brown sugar to taste (optional: chopped pecans)

Serves 4

One response to “Sweet Potato Soup

  1. nubianboudoir

    Haven’t tried this, but it reminds me of Butternut Squash soup which is my favourite – so many different recipes come up when you google it, but this one http://www.wchstv.com/gmarecipes/creamybutternut.shtml is my favourite.