I’m not the only one-

I stumbled upon this site, and I can’t stop reading it.

As some of you may know, I embarked on a sort of experiment last summer.  I blame it all on my highly curious nature, as well as my sense of adventure and my (obviously) easily influenced mind.  I had heard about, and subsequently read, The Year of YesWhen Idaho-born Headley, a 20-year-old NYU drama student, laments, “I felt like I’d dated and then hated every man in Manhattan,” she thinks perhaps she’s too critical. So she “decided that I would say yes to every man who asked me out on a date.” It sounds disastrous, even scary, though she chose to exclude the drunk, the drugged, the violent, and cheating husbands. The first date was the Puerto Rican handyman who came to fix the toilet with his daughter in tow, the second a 40-year-old who spoke only Polish. One took her to a strip joint, one wanted his penis bitten, one was a woman and one asked her to marry him on the first date. One of the nicest turned out to be the 70-year-old Latino who made obscene sucking noises and claimed to have 11 children. The one Headley got a crush on turned out to be “mostly gay.” And then what happened? Believe it or not—true love. Reader, she married him. It’s sheer chick fluff, but amusing, with names changed “to protect the indignant, the infantile, and, of course, the innocent.”

Well, you know me…I thought this was an awesome idea!  So I decided to do a three month stint of saying yes to anyone – on match.com.  Needless to say, there were a lot – and I mean A LOT – of men I conversed with during that time.  Actually, I think I ended it after a month, because I was so exhausted.  It was a big mistake.  Duh, right?  I kept track of the experiment on my (now defunct) website. 

I wish I could say I learned something from my little experiment.  I didn’t.  Well, I learned not to say yes to any Joe Shmoe.  But I can’t say I met a lot of really great people I wouldn’t have otherwise met.  I can’t say I met some new friends.  All I can say is I know not to do that again.  I guess that was an important lesson.

2 responses to “I’m not the only one-

  1. You know, I started dating my husband because I was home on break and bored. He was nothing like the guys I had been dating at school and normally I would not have been interested. So, maybe there is some truth in expanding your “type”….

  2. I dated on match.com as well … The whole thing just felt so creepy after a while. Even the nice guys seemed like they were lurking! After a while, I realized I prefer it when attraction develops naturally with someone I’m around — who I can see interact with others and get a vibe from. I wish us both luck!