More scary statistics about online dating

“Online dating is the way to go if you’re looking to get lucky.”  Out of 568 women surveyed, 1/3 of them had sex on the first date with someone they met online.  And most did not use condoms.

A lot of people I know have voiced concern over online dating – specifically, me dating online.  They caution me to be careful, to make sure I meet the man in a public place, and tell someone else where I will be.  They point out that men can say anything in an online ad – he might be married, or unemployed, or a murderer.  He probably won’t look anything like his picture. 

I consider myself to be an open-minded person, with a good head on my shoulders, able to make good decisions, and a decent judge of character.  I have been on about a dozen first dates with men I’ve met online, and, with the possible exception of weight, have not found that I’ve been lied to. 

Of course, I know that there are those men out there.  I just hope that I’m smart enough to weed those men out.  But regardless, please rest assured.  I always meet for the first time in public,  I do not let them know where I live until at least the second date (usually later), and I DO NOT put out on the first date.  I don’t perform oral sex on the first date, either.  Just want to put that on the record.

4 responses to “More scary statistics about online dating

  1. Good thing you clarified–I just read that most teenage girls do not think oral sex counts as sex. Jeesh!

  2. I think online dating would be so much fun. Of course, I would probably be one of those people that photoshop the hell out of my picture and trump up all my accomplishments. 🙂
    Glad you’re playing it safe. What about good ol’ fashioned “necking” on the first date? Is that allowed?

  3. Pingback: What are YOU looking for? « DelightfulEccentric’s Weblog

  4. There are a ton of sites out there that deal with one night stands, casual dating etc. Just be careful where you sign up!;)