This is not an advertisement-

(I know it sounds like one…) 

I’ve taken to going to the gym twice a week at lunchtime and doing my strength training.  I don’t sweat enough doing weights to need to take a shower, so I’m able to get to the gym and back in just over an hour.  It’s been working out really well, because I don’t have to make the decision about whether to do cardio or weights at night, when I only have an hour to work out.

The Y has a thing called FitLinxx, where you can log your workouts.  You can log time on the treadmill, log your yoga class, and even log outside exercise, like if you went for a hike at Crowder’s Mountain over the weekend.  FitLinxx also has a full set of strength exercises hooked up to the computer – you enter your own personal code, it tells you what your seat position should be, and what your target weight to lift is.  As you lift, it keeps count, and is set up so that you do the full range of motion for the exercise without going too fast, thus getting the optimum workout.  No cheating allowed!  After you finish, it tells you how much you lifted.

And now, the point of my post:

You want to know what it feels like to be empowered?  Sign up for this at the Y.  Today, in about 45 minutes, I (little old me) lifted 26,300 pounds.  No, I didn’t add any extra zero’s in that number.  Imagine, for a minute, knowing that you had lifted over 26,000 pounds.  What do you automatically do?  If you’re anything like me, you flex your biceps in the classic weightlifters stance.

I feel strong.  I feel invincible.  (Is anyone singing?)

2 responses to “This is not an advertisement-

  1. I’m totally signing up for Fitlinxx at the Y this weekend.

    Wait, does this mean that two days a week you’re going to the gym twice per day? If so it totally explains why you’re looking so good!

  2. delightfuleccentric

    Well, no – I’m in the gym Mondays and Thursdays doing weights, and back in the gym at night on Tuesdays, and sometimes Mondays/Wednesdays/Thursdays, but not all three in the same week. So I go about 4-5 times a week, in all. But thanks! I feel pretty good about how I look, myself!