Bottom Up!

When reading through a list of things, like a menu, how do you read it?  For example:

I think most people generally read lists from the top down. 

I don’t.  I start at the bottom.

I don’t know why.  I don’t know when I started doing that – within the last 5-8 years, I think.

I can’t seem to focus if I read top down.  It’s all just noise, and I end up getting about halfway down the list and I can’t remember anything of what I’ve read.

You may have heard that one trick to proofreading your own writing is to read it backwards.  If you read it as you normally would, your brain fills in words and leaps ahead, because it already knows it.  But if you read it backwards, you’re more likely to catch spelling and grammar errors, or realize that a word is missing. 

I kind of wonder if that’s why I read bottom up.  Maybe my brain knows I don’t focus well reading top down, so I unconsciously don’t read that way. 

In the case of multiple columns, I’m royally screwed.  My eyes bounce around like I’m watching a ball in a pinball machine, reading the top two of one list, bottom three of another, one in the middle of yet another list.

 

Maybe I’m developing Adult ADD.  

Does anyone else read lists this way?  Or am I just weird?  Thoughts?

4 responses to “Bottom Up!

  1. :) you aren’t the only one…i’ve always thought (and been told) i’m odd because i even read magazines from the back to the front…..it’s an oddity that i can’t help and when i pick up a menu i automatically start reading at the end or back to front or top. and yep, multiple columns are difficult for me lol i tend to just stop looking at menu then am flustered when it time to look and order…………maybe it’s just being in thirties?
    Personally i prefer to think i read it right and everyone else reads it wrong…………….glad to see another right person is out there too (get’s kinda’ lonely being the only one right all the time-lol)

    • delightfuleccentric

      See, that’s one of the things I love about blogging – you find out you’re not alone in the world! :)

      That’s funny – I don’t read magazines from the back to the front, but I do tend to flip randomly. It takes a lot of concentration for me to sit down and read it front to back.

      Thanks for stopping in and commenting, and for helping me feel less like a wierdo! ;-)

  2. I always read menus from bottom to top. I have no idea why, it just works better for me that way. So there are at least three of us!

  3. I am 21 and for the past year I have noticed myself reading texts, books, emails from the bottom. I always wondered why and I just put it down to being inpatient and wanted to read the end first! I feel much better now I know its not just me, like you said when I read from the top it doesn’t seem to sink into my brain and I only end up re-reading it! Don’t even get me started on menus.. For as long as I can remember I have never been able to chose something to eat easily, its always a hassle because I cant concentrate!